Home Formula 4British F4 Loake leads Silverstone practice, British F4 adds Snetterton rookie test

Loake leads Silverstone practice, British F4 adds Snetterton rookie test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

JHR Developments’ Joseph Loake was the pacesetter in both of British Formula 4’s free practice sessions on Silverstone’s National layout on Friday.

The expanded 20-car field had been on track the day before for four test sessions, and were back out again on Friday morning.

Several drivers appeared at the top of the times in FP1, including the returning Fortec Motorsports’ debutant James Higgins, Argenti Motorsport’s Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Daniel Guinchard, Hitech GP’s points leader Alex Dunne, Williams junior Ollie Gray and his Carlin team-mate Louis Sharp.

In the final 10 minutes it came down to a fight between Dunne and Loake for top spot, and Loake prevailed by 0.109 seconds with a 54.898s lap.

He was able to improve on that in the afternoon session, as Dunne once again was his closest opponent and set a 54.495s lap in the middle of FP2 that looked unlikely to be beaten until Loake went faster by 0.015s with his penultimate lap of the day.

Every driver set their best lap of the day in FP2, and the highest-placed of this weekend’s debutants was Higgins in 13th.

In addition to several track sessions on Brands Hatch’s Grand Prix layout before the season finale there on October 8/9, British F4 has organised further running for teams with a test at Snetterton on October 27/28.

Dubbed the ‘New Driver Test’, it aims to attract drivers who are looking to compete in British F4 next season but have not raced in the series this year.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 54.480s 50
2 Alex Dunne Hitech GP 54.495s +0.015s 43
3 Ugo Ugochukwu Carlin 54.562s +0.082s 40
4 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 54.583s +0.103s 41
5 Georgi Dimitrov JHR Developments 54.591s +0.111s 50
6 Ollie Gray Carlin 54.634s +0.154s 41
7 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport 54.647s +0.167s 51
8 Marcos Flack Fortec Motorsports 54.696s +0.216s 57
9 Edward Pearson Virtuosi 54.737s +0.257s 50
10 Eduardo Coseteng Hitech GP 54.744s +0.264s 41
11 Oliver Stewart Hitech GP 54.810s +0.330s 41
12 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport 54.842s +0.362s 40
13 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports 54.849s +0.369s 60
14 Louis Sharp Carlin 54.873s +0.393s 43
15 Noah Lisle JHR Developments 54.975s +0.495s 55
16 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing 55.067s +0.587s 50
17 Michael Shin Virtuosi 55.093s +0.613s 48
18 Jaden Pariat Chris Dittmann Racing 55.175s +0.695s 50
19 Daniel Mavlyutov Hitech GP 55.384s +0.904s 46
20 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport 55.459s +0.979s 56