Home Featured Lindblad scores first F3 feature race win with faultless Barcelona drive

Lindblad scores first F3 feature race win with faultless Barcelona drive

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Red Bull

Arvid Lindblad took a commanding victory in the Formula 3 feature race at Barcelona, winning by more than four seconds over pole-sitter Christian Mansell.

The Prema driver took the race lead early on and put in a faultless drive to extend the lead at the front of the order. Rain late on forced him to back off the pace, but he had more than enough time in hand to take the chequered flag comfortably ahead of Mansell and secure his second victory of the season.

Early in the race, there were spots of rain in the pit lane, but the track remained relatively dry until just after the midpoint of the 25 lap encounter. Rain was then reported in sector three, but it wasn’t heavy enough for anybody to take the gamble and switch tyres. On the final laps, the rain became heavier, but most of the field managed to keep the cars on track to complete the race.

It was in those final two laps that most of the movement came at the front of the order.

After being passed by Lindblad early on, Mansell had a lonely race with a gap of over a second back to Luke Browning, who himself had Leonardo Fornaroli on his tail. In the final laps, Fornaroli managed to get alongside Browning and force a way through to take the podium position, and with the championship lead. 

Oliver Goethe, who had spent the race battling Nikola Tsolov, Laurens van Hoepen and Martinius Stenshorne, came through to demote Browning to fifth.

In the final laps, the battle between van Hoepen and Stenshorne came to a dramatic close as the two made contact and van Hoepen tumbled down the order with a puncture. Stenshorne was able to continue, but would also suffer a puncture and limped across the line as the last of the finishers.

Tsolov managed to avoid the drama to finish sixth, just ahead of the battling Alex Dunne and Mari Boya. Dino Beganovic took ninth, holding off Noel Leon and Sergio Ramos.

Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Arvid Lindblad Prema 39m09.719s
2 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix +4.447s
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +5.627s
4 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing +6.498s
5 Luke Browning Hitech GP +7.388s
6 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +10.671s
7 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport +10.933s
8 Mari Boya Campos Racing +11.883s
9 Dino Beganovic Prema +13.419s
10 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing +14.159s
11 Santiago Ramos Trident +14.635s
12 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport +15.962s
13 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing +20.416s
14 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport +21.193s
15 Sami Meguetounif Trident +22.442s
16 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport +23.130s
17 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing +24.231s
18 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +25.842s
19 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport +27.488s
20 Cian Shields Hitech GP +33.433s
21 Gabriele Mini Prema +34.379s
22 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport +37.395s
23 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport +38.305s
24 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport +38.901s
25 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +39.534s
26 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing +40.613s
27 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP +41.328s
28 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport +47.566s
29 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +1 lap
Ret Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing
Fastest lap: Browning, 1m31.970s

Championship standings
 Fornaroli 84   2 Browning 79   3 Mini 72   4 Lindblad 71   5 Beganovic 63   6 Goethe 63   7 Mansell 56   8 Boya 44   9 Tramnitz 44   10 Meguetounif 38