Home Formula 2 Lancaster, Daly and Jefferies fill seats for first GP2 test

Lancaster, Daly and Jefferies fill seats for first GP2 test

by Peter Allen
Conor Daly and Jon Lancaster

Photo: Alastair Staley/GP2 Media Service

GP2 pre-season testing gets underway in Abu Dhabi tomorrow, with Jon Lancaster, Conor Daly and Axcil Jefferies filling the three seats that have yet to be taken for the 2014 campaign.

23 of the 26 seats have had drivers confirmed ahead of the first test, with places remaining at MP Motorsport, Trident and Lazarus.

Lancaster will line up at MP Motorsport alongside team regular Daniel De Jong. The Briton won back-to-back sprint races in 2013 with Hilmer Motorsport at Silverstone and the Nurburgring, finishing 11th in the final standings.

Daly will join Lazarus alongside Nathanael Berthon, who was announced as a race driver for the Italian squad on Friday. American Daly has competed in GP3 for the past three years, finishing third in the 2013 standings, but he also has one weekend of GP2 under his belt after contesting the opening round of last season in Sepang with Hilmer, finishing seventh in race two.

Jefferies takes the seat available at Trident alongside Johnny Cecotto. The British-born Zimbabwean contested the final season of FIA Formula Two in 2012, claiming a best result of seventh, while last year entered two rounds of Indy Lights, managing a best of fifth.

Trident have announced this morning that former GP2 race winner Giacomo Ricci will fulfil role of team manager from the test onwards, replacing Luca Zerbini.

Line-up for Abu Dhabi pre-season test
Team Drivers
Russian Time Mitch Evans Artem Markelov
Carlin Julian Leal Felipe Nasr
Racing Engineering Raffaele Marciello Stefano Coletti
DAMS Jolyon Palmer Stephane Richelmi
ART Grand Prix Stoffel Vandoorne Takuya Izawa
Hilmer Motorsport Daniel Abt Facu Regalia
Rapax Simon Trummer Adrian Quaife-Hobbs
Arden International Rene Binder Andre Negrao
Caterham Racing Alexander Rossi Rio Haryanto
MP Motorsport Daniel De Jong Jon Lanacaster
Trident Racing Johnny Cecotto Axcil Jefferies
Campos Racing Arthur Pic Kimiya Sato
Lazarus Nathanael Berthon Conor Daly