Home News Kyle Kirkwood dominates only oval race of the USF2000 season at Lucas Oil Raceway

Kyle Kirkwood dominates only oval race of the USF2000 season at Lucas Oil Raceway

by Ida Wood

Kyle Kirkwood dominated the Freedom 75 at Lucas Oil Raceway, the only oval race on the USF2000 calendar.

The Cape Motorsports driver narrowly beast Pabst Racing’s Rasmus Lindh to pole, but the Swede has no answer to Kirkwood’s pace in the race.

In the caution-free first half of the race Kirkwood stretched out a lead of over four seconds, before championship rival Alex Baron put his Swan-RJB Motorsports car into the wall at Turn 3 when attempting to lap Russell McDonough.

The Frenchman retired immediately, and Kirkwood was left to fend off Lindh, his Pabst team-mate Kaylen Frederick and ArmsUp Motorsport’s Keith Donegan, on his most impressive performance to date, on the first restart.

Donegan was the weakest of the frontrunners on the restart, dropping to sixth, but had another chance to put that right when the race was neutralised again shortly after.

Zach Holden and Julian Van der Watt had interlocked wheels during contact, and it took a significant number of laps for marshals to detatch the two cars. Once they had completed that task, both drivers were able to return to the pits.

The caution periods meant the race became a timed encounter of 30 minutes, and Kirkwood ensured victory would be his with a brilliant restart that included setting the fastest lap of the race.

Frederick jumped from fourth to second, although it took a lap of side-by-side running to move past Lindh, with Pabst team-mate Lucas Kohl finishing fourth.

DEForce Racing’s Jose Sierra was fifth, ahead of Donegan, Igor Fraga (Exclusive Autosport), Darren Keane (Newman Wachs Racing), Pabst’s fourth driver Calvin Ming and Exclusive’s Manuel Carbrera.

The combination of victory, pole, fastest lap and all laps led means Kirkwood got the maximum amount of points available, and now leads Baron by 44 points in the standings. Sierra is a further 13 behind.


Freedom 75 results (58 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Kyle Kirkwood Cape Motorsports 29m54.366s
2 Kaylen Frederick Pabst Racing +1.2695s
3 Rasmus Lindh Pabst Racing +1.9099s
4 Lucas Kohl Pabst Racing +3.5994s
5 Jose Sierra DEForce Racing +4.7860s
6 Keith Donegan ArmsUp Motorsport +5.2606s
7 Igor Fraga Exclusive Autosport +6.0105s
8 Darren Keane Newman Wachs Racing +6.9243s
9 Calvin Ming Pabst Racing +8.2575s
10 Manuel Cabrera Exclusive Autosport +8.8193s
11 Kory Enders DEForce Racing +10.0898s
12 Mathias Soler-Obel Sol.O Racing +11.7898s
13 Colin Kaminsky DEForce Racing +12.4723s
14 Bruna Tomaselli Team Pelfrey +14.2833s
15 David Osborne Newman Wachs Racing +1 lap
16 Oscar DeLuzuriaga Newman Wachs Racing +1 lap
17 Kyle Dupell Team Pelfrey +1 lap
Ret Zach Holden DEForce Racing
Ret Julian Van der Watt Team Pelfrey
Ret Russell McDonough BN Racing
Ret Alex Baron Swan-RJB Motorsports
Pole: Kirkwood, 98.505mph? ? ??Fastest Lap: Kirkwood, 22.633s

Championship Standings
Kirkwood 138? ?2 Baron 94? ?3 Sierra 81???4?Fraga 69? ?5 Kohl 64? ?6 Keane 64? ?7 Lindh 63? ?8 Ming 61? ?9 Van der Watt 56? ?10 Enders 55