Home Z - Archive seriesAuto GP Kiss wins as Sato is crowned Auto GP champion

Kiss wins as Sato is crowned Auto GP champion

by Gruz David
Photo: Auto GP

Photo: Auto GP

Tamas Pal Kiss was victorious in the second Auto GP race of the series’ penultimate weekend at the Nurburgring.

The Hungarian driver assumed the lead during the second lap and comfortably kept pace throughout the remainder of the race to celebrate his second victory of the season.

Following Kiss for the bigger part of the race, Markus Pommer took second, finishing right ahead of Kimiya Sato, who completed the podium.

Having also recorded the fastest lap of the race, Sato ended up with a 50-points lead in the standings, which was enough to?officially win him the 2014 Auto GP championship.

Italian trio Andrea Roda, Michela Cerruti and Kevin Giovesi finished fourth, fifth and sixth respectively as the latter was closely followed by Euronova’s Yoshitaka Kuroda.

The race was completed by gentleman drivers Michele La Rosa, Giuseppe Cipriani, Francesco Dracone and Salvatore Deplano.

Sato is the fifth champion of the Auto GP’s current era, following in the footsteps of F1 driver Romain Grosjean, Italian Kevin Ceccon, GP2 race winner Adrian Quaife-Hobbs and Vittorio Ghirelli.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Tamas Pal Kiss Virtuosi UK 23 laps in 31:22.578
2 Markus Pommer Super Nova International +10.002
3 Kimiya Sato Euronova Racing +10.879
4 Andrea Roda Virtuosi UK +21.324
5 Michela Cerruti Super Nova International +23.193
6 Kevin Giovesi FMS Racing +27.994
7 Yoshitaka Kuroda Euronova Racing +28.442
8 Michele La Rosa MLR71 by Euronova +42.057
9 Giuseppe Cipriani Ibiza Racing Team +1:09.572
10 Francesco Dracone Super Nova International +1:17.466
11 Salvatore Deplano Euronova Racing +1 lap