Home Featured Kirkwood quickest, Frost crashes in Indy Lights’ St. Petersburg practice

Kirkwood quickest, Frost crashes in Indy Lights’ St. Petersburg practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Kyle Kirkwood set the pace in Indy Lights’ sole free practice session on the streets of St. Petersburg, which was disrupted by one of his Andretti Autosport team-mates crashing.

HMD Motorsports’ David Malukas was the first to search for the limits, going fastest early on and then continually improving to bring the fastest lap down to a 1m06.0398s at the halfway point of the 40-minute session.

The driver getting closest to him was Andretti’s Danial Frost, mirroring his improvements but never quite matching them until with 18 minutes to go he went to the top with a 1m05.9561s.

He was pushing even harder two laps later when he went too deep into the turn 10 left-hander and drove into the barriers at the exit of the corner, requiring the session to be red flagged.

During this time the local internet went down at the street circut, meaning laptimes weren’t being shown when the session eventually restarted.

Frost was allowed to keep his fastest lap from before the crash, and that left him in fourth place by the session’s end.

Kirkwood and Alex Peroni (Carlin with Jay Howard Driver Development) brought the pace down to 1m05.3s territory, and in the end just 0.0143 seconds seperated them at the top as the chequered flag was waved.

Malukas improved to claim third, while behind Frost was Global Racing Group with HMD’s points leader Linus Lundqvist and the closely matched Benjamin Pedersen (GRG with HMD), Devlin DeFrancesco (Andretti Steinbrenner) and Robert Megennis (Andretti) who were covered by just 0.0398s in the sixth to eighth places.

Each driver got three uses of the push-to-pass overtaking system in the session ahead of its planned reintroduction in this weekend’s races.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport 1m05.3824s 27
2 Alex Peroni Carlin w/ JHDD 1m05.3967s +0.0143s 27
3 David Malukas HMD Motorsports 1m05.6652s +0.2828s 25
4 Danial Frost Andretti Autosport 1m05.9561s +0.5737s 16
5 Linus Lundqvist Global Racing Group w/ HMD 1m06.0469s +0.6645s 26
6 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group w/ HMD 1m06.2086s +0.8262s 26
7 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport 1m06.2278s +0.8454s 27
8 Robert Megennis Andretti Autosport 1m06.2484s +0.8660s 26
9 Toby Sowery Juncos Racing 1m06.3729s +0.9905s 27
10 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 1m06.6443s +1.2619s 25
11 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing 1m06.7245s +1.3421s 24
12 Nikita Lastochkin HMD Motorsports 1m06.7343s +1.3519s 26
13 Christian Bogle Carlin w/ JHDD 1m06.7845s +1.4021s 28