Home News Kas Haverkort back in control in third Spanish F4 race at Jerez

Kas Haverkort back in control in third Spanish F4 race at Jerez

by Ida Wood

Kas Haverkort led from lights-to-flag in the third Spanish Formula 4 race at Jerez to extend his championship lead.

The driver who started and finished second was his MP Motorsport team-mate Mari Boya, who is also his closest title rival.

Boya kept within a second of Haverkort for the first six laps of the 16-lap race, but the Dutchman then upped his pace in the latter part of the race to win by 2.583 seconds.

Joshua Dufek made it an all-MP podium, despite starting lower down the order. The Swiss driver qualified fifth, and lost two places on the opening lap. He reclaimed both of those in successive laps, then a mistake from surprise third place qualifier Eloy Sebastian Lopez dropped him to fifth and promoted MP drivers Thomas ten Brinke and Dufek to third and fourth.

Dufek didn’t actually close in on the debuting Dutchman, the reigning World Junior Karting champion, but was handed the place on the final lap and finished almost 10s behind Haverkort.

Ivan Nosov and race two winner Valdemar Eriksen finished fifth and sixth for Drivex School, with their team-mate Augustin Collinot absent from the race.

Praga F4’s Quique Bordas was just behind them, while Eloy Sebatian Lopez dropped over 20s to Haverkort and ended up holding off his Global Racing Service team-mate Suleiman Zanfari for eighth place.


Race results (16 laps) 
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 28m00.682s
2 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +2.583s
3 Joshua Dufek MP Motorsport +9.747s
4 Thomas ten Brinke MP Motorsport +12.897s
5 Ivan Nosov Drivex School +13.167s
6 Valdemar Eriksen Drivex School +15.653s
7 Quique Bordas Praga F4 +16.107s
8 Eloy Sebastian Lopez Global Racing Service +21.095s
9 Suleiman Zanfari Global Racing Service +21.554s
10 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +24.727s
11 Alex Garcia Global Racing Service +25.393s
12 Lorenzo Fluxa Global Racing Service +25.602s
13 Carles Martinez Praga F4 +26.174s
14 Lena Buhler Drivex School +27.453s
15 Paul-Adrien Pallot Drivex School +31.194s
16 Enzo Joullie MP Motorsport +31.458s
17 Javier Sagrera MOL Racing +32.181s
18 Ignacio Montenegro MP Motorsport +32.569s
19 Mehrbod Shameli Xcel Motorsport +33.907s
Pole: Haverkort, 1m43.794s       Fastest lap: ten Brinke, 1m44.218s

Championship standings
1 Haverkort 124   2 Boya 113   3 Goethe 96   4 Dufek 67   5 Filip Ugran 55   6 Fluxa 54   7 Eriksen 44   8 ten Brinke 38   9 Nosov 33   10 Francesco Simonazzi 23