Home News Karting stars join Spanish F4 test at Valencia topped by van’t Hoff

Karting stars join Spanish F4 test at Valencia topped by van’t Hoff

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

MP Motorsport’s Dilano van’t Hoff topped Spanish Formula 4’s in-season test at Valencia Ricardo Tormo, where several karters joined the action.

Praga F4’s Daniel Macia was fastest in the test’s first session on Monday morning, setting a 1m34.596s that was 0.153 seconds faster than van’t Hoff.

Macia’s team-mate Quique Bordas was third, just 0.026s slower than van’t Hoff, while Drivex’s Lola Lovinfosse was only able to set three laps.

In the afternoon it was van’t Hoff who was on top, although he couldn’t better Macia’s morning benchmark. The only other drivers who lapped sub-1m35s in that session were Max Arkhangelskiy, Filip Jenic and Pepe Marti.

The track got grippier on Tuesday morning, but air temperatures rose beyond 38°C in the afternoon and limited the pace gain.

Van’t Hoff improved to a 1m34.228s lap in the first session, edging Guilherme Oliveira, Jorge Campos, Marti and Jenic. The top 23 all lapped in the 1m34s, while Bordas was the only driver not to improve from his Monday morning best.

The test ended with Noah Stromsted, who after turning 14 later this month will debut in Danish F4, setting the pace for Teo Martin Motorsport. He was fastest in the final session with a 1m34.934s, 0.027s faster than Marti.

Emmo Fittipaldi, Stromsted’s Danish F4 team-mate, tested for Global Racing Service. The team also ran two Regional Formula 3 cars, one for former GT World Challenge Europe racer Alexey Karachev, and Anshul Gandhi in its third F4 car.

The United Arab Emirates-based Indian has won the UAE karting championship as well as testing in F4 with Xcel Motorsport there.

Other karters present included MP’s development driver Miron Pingasov, who was coached by Richard Verschoor, France’s Florian Rousseau Ricci, Mexico’s Ricardo Escotto, Dani Briz – currently ninth in the Spanish Karting Championship – and Italians Alfio Spina and Niko Lacorte. Factory Parolin driver Spina recently won the Italian championship.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dilano Van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m34.228s 126
2 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School 1m34.246s +0.018s 155
3 Jorge Campos Teo Martin Motorsport 1m34.285s +0.057s 139
4 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m34.296s +0.068s 172
5 Filip Jenic Teo Martin Motorsport 1m34.301s +0.073s 138
6 Daniel Macia Praga F4 1m34.385s +0.157s 115
7 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing 1m34.394s +0.166s 147
8 Noam Abramczyk Drivex School 1m34.402s +0.174s 131
9 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School 1m34.513s +0.285s 173
10 Branden Lee Oxley Drivex School 1m34.558s +0.330s 165
11 Vladislav Ryabov Global Racing Service 1m34.627s +0.399s 175
12 Oliver Michl Teo Martin Motorsport 1m34.678s +0.450s 128
13 Manuel Espirito Santo MP Motorsport 1m34.687s +0.459s 130
14 Alex Garcia Campos Racing 1m34.715s +0.487s 159
15 Alex Partyshev Campos Racing 1m34.752s +0.524s 149
16 Gil Molina MP Motorsport 1m34.756s +0.528s 139
17 Quique Bordas Praga F4 1m34.775s +0.547s 113
18 Noah Stromsted Teo Martin Motorsport 1m34.869s +0.641s 142
19 Noah Degnbol MP Motorsport 1m34.892s +0.664s 155
20 Emmo Fittipaldi Global Racing Service 1m34.894s +0.666s 175
21 Niko Lacorte unknown 1m35.178s +0.950s 131
22 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 1m35.281s +1.053s 159
23 Georg Kelstrup MP Motorsport 1m35.360s +1.132s 154
24 Rik Koen MP Motorsport 1m35.418s +1.190s 134
25 Alfio Spina unknown 1m35.571s +1.343s 164
26 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 1m35.571s +1.343s 155
27 Florian Rousseau unknown 1m35.596s +1.368s 153
28 Ricardo Escotto Campos Racing 1m35.728s +1.500s 151
29 Anshul Gandhi Global Racing Service 1m35.957s +1.729s 187
30 Emely de Heus MP Motorsport 1m36.094s +1.866s 131
31 Dani Briz Praga F4 1m36.202s +1.974s 112
32 Lola Lovinfosse Drivex School 1m36.843s +2.615s 127