Home Formula 3Euroformula Kanamaru dominates second EF Open Winter Series test day at Jerez

Kanamaru dominates second EF Open Winter Series test day at Jerez

by Gruz David
Yu Kanamaru

Photo: Fotospeedy

Yu Kanamaru topped four out of four sessions on Saturday to end the Euroformula Open Winter Series test at Jerez in dominant fashion.

The Japanese driver, who finished fourth last year in the regular season, excelled in wet conditions as rain hit the track in the first three outings today. Although the final session was in dry conditions, Kanamaru remained in the lead, only four tenths off Konstantin Tereshchenko‘s pace-setting lap from yesterday.

The day began with a de Villota Motorsport one-two with Mexican Luis-Michael Dorrbecker taking second, being only 0.06s off the pace. Three further drivers – ADAC Formel Masters graduate Igor Walilko, series returnee Damiano Fioravanti and BRDC F4 race-winner Diego Menchaca – managed to stay within a second of Kanamaru’s time.

The following session saw Kanamaru going an impressive 1.5s faster than the rest of the field, which was led by Campos duo Tereshchenko and Menchaca. CIK-FIA World Championship runner-up and Italian F4 graduate Leonardo Pulcini was fourth fastest followed by sophomore driver Henrique Baptista.

Kanamaru’s lead remained but was reduced to less than six tenths in the third session. It was Pulcini who was second fastest, narrowly edging out 2013 Formula Abarth champion Alessio Rovera, Henrique Baptista and Israeli Yarin Stern.

In the final practice of the day Kanamaru stayed in first, edging Rovera and Tereshchenko out by two and four tenths respectively while both Pulcini and Menchaca retained their regular top five places.

As this was the only dry session of the day, the overall fastest times are identical to the times set in this outing.

The Winter Series will resume on 6-7 March at Paul Ricard with two races and will conclude a week later with tests in Barcelona.

Testing results
Pos. Driver Team Session 1 Session 2 Session 3 Session 4
1 Yu Kanamaru EmiliodeVillota Motorsport 1:49.761 1:50.251 1:51.140 1:36.931
2 Alessio Rovera Team West-Tec No Time 2:09.292 1:51.747 1:37.151
3 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing 1:51.177 1:51.746 1:52.755 1:37.354
4 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing 1:53.912 1:52.186 1:51.719 1:37.821
5 Diego Menchaca Campos Racing 1:50.700 1:51.845 1:51.989 1:38.067
6 Damiano Fioravanti RP Motorsport 1:50.608 No Time 1:53.563 1:38.552
7 William Barbosa BVM Racing 1:54.899 1:57.340 1:53.166 1:38.642
8 Michael Dorrbecker EmiliodeVillota Motorsport 1:49.824 1:53.665 No Time 1:38.725
9 Igor Walilko RP Motorsport 1:50.414 No Time 1:53.307 1:38.824
10 Henrique Baptista Campos Racing 1:54.312 1:52.937 1:51.838 1:38.942
11 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport 1:51.098 No Time 1:54.198 1:39.723
12 Edi Haxhiu Corbetta Competizioni 1:52.900 1:53.618 1:52.669 1:40.051
13 Vitor Baptista RP Motorsport 1:50.879 1:52.966 No Time 1:40.084
14 Antoni Ptak RP Motorsport 2:05.358 1:58.936 1:56.028 1:40.256
15 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec No Time No Time 1:51.891 1:40.794
16 Jose Manuel Vilalta EmiliodeVillota Motorsport 1:52.825 1:53.947 1:53.775 1:42.994
17 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport 2:08.439 No Time 1:55.190 No Time

Personal best time in bold
Best time of session in italics