Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Juri Vips fastest in pre-season FRegional European test at Misano

Juri Vips fastest in pre-season FRegional European test at Misano

by Ida Wood

Photo: LAT Images / Joe Portlock

Red Bull junior Juri Vips ended Formula Regional European Championship’s pre-season Misano test with the fastest time.

The KIC Motorsport driver, who will race in the championship this year in addition to a planned campaign in Super Formula, was the quickest driver in three of the four sessions on the second day of the test, and was the only driver capable of repeatedly lapping in the 1m29s.

His closest rival was Prema’s Gianluca Petecof, who beat Vips in the first session of the day and actually made further improvements to end up just 0.054s off Vip’s session three benchmark.

KIC Motorsport had a mixed day, with Formula Renault Eurocup graduate Patrik Pasma showing strong pace throughout and running little over two tenths off Vips, but logging no laps in the second session with Konsta Lappalainen and then spending the afternoon on the back foot with the returning driver.

The rest of Prema’s line-up also had a slow start to the day but were on the pace in the final session.

Arthur Leclerc and Oliver Rasmussen jumped up to fourth and fifth in the combined classification with late efforts, with team-mate Jamie Chadwick slotting in to seventh between Van Amersfoort Racing’s Alessandro Famularo and Pierre-Louis Chovet, who had looked quick in the morning.

The Maestro Motorsport team was once again not in attendance, while US Racing only ran one car for David Vidales following Roman Stanek’s departure for Austria to race in FIA Formula 3 Championship after testing with the team the day before.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Juri Vips KIC Motorsport 1m29.791s 86
2 Gianluca Petecof Prema 1m29.845s +0.054s 81
3 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m29.996s +0.205s 71
4 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m30.147s +0.356s 83
5 Oliver Rasmussen Prema 1m30.308s +0.517s 77
6 Alessandro Famularo Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.378s +0.587s 67
7 Jamie Chadwick Prema 1m30.396s +0.605s 85
8 Pierre-Louis Chovet Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.423s +0.632s 85
9 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m30.810s +1.019s 87
10 Konsta Lappalainen KIC Motorsport 1m30.860s +1.069s 64
11 David Vidales US Racing 1m31.039s +1.248s 91
12 Gillian Henrion Gillian Track Events 1m32.269s +2.478s 72
13 Andrea Cola Monolite Racing 1m32.484s +2.693s 45