Home Featured Johnathan Hoggard tops second afternoon of FIA F3 Barcelona test

Johnathan Hoggard tops second afternoon of FIA F3 Barcelona test

by Josh Suttill

Johnathan Hoggard was quickest in the afternoon session of the second and final day of the first FIA Formula 3 post-season test at Barcelona.

Hoggard, the recipient of the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award, set a 1m33.759s to top the session for Jenzer Motorsport. His time was almost 1.8 seconds slower than his 2019 BRDC British F3 title rival Clement Novalak’s benchmark from the morning session. 

Roman Stanek was second quickest in the afternoon for Prema, but over three tenths slower than Hoggard’s best effort. The top three was rounded out by Red Bul junior Dennis Hauger in the sister Prema-run machine.

Hauger’s Red Bull stablemate Igor Fraga continued his strong testing form in fourth place for Hitech GP.

Prema’s Ferrari junior Arthur Leclerc, the Formula Regional European Championship leader, was fifth quickest ahead of ART Grand Prix’s Formula Renault Eurocup points leader Victor Martins.

American Red Bull protege Jak Crawford was seventh fastest for Hitech ahead of team-mate Pierre-Louis Chovet, who contested two rounds at the end of the 2020 FIA F3 season with the British team.

Calan Williams was ninth quickest for Jenzer for the second consecutive session, while Renault junior Caio Collet rounded out the top 10 for MP Motorsport.

Olli Caldwell, testing with ART on Tuesday, caused the only red flag of the day when he spun at Turn 7 with just under 15 minutes of the three-hour session remaining. FIA F3 will return for its second and final post-season test at Jerez on October 27-28.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.759s 31
2 Roman Stanek Prema 1m34.102s +0.343s 42
3 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m34.167s +0.408s 39
4 Igor Fraga Hitech GP 1m34.286s +0.527s 41
5 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m34.715s +0.956s 41
6 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m34.775s +1.016s 41
7 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m34.794s +1.035s 43
8 Pierre-Louis Chovet Hitech GP 1m34.814s +1.055s 42
9 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.836s +1.077s 34
10 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m34.859s +1.100s 37
11 Ben Barnicoat Carlin 1m34.870s +1.111s 31
12 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m34.927s +1.168s 54
13 Matteo Nannini ART Grand Prix 1m35.082s +1.323s 42
14 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m35.151s +1.392s 22
15 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m35.398s +1.639s 36
16 Patrik Pasma Charouz Racing System 1m35.453s +1.694s 35
17 Alessandro Famularo Campos Racing 1m35.484s +1.725s 31
18 Sophia Floersch Campos 1m35.608s +1.849s 32
19 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.802s +2.043s 25
20 William Alatalo Campos Racing 1m35.838s +2.079s 35
21 Josef Knopp Charouz Racing System 1m35.892s +2.133s 33
22 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m35.899s +2.140s 35
23 Olli Caldwell ART Grand Prix 1m35.913s +2.154s 35
24 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport 1m35.972s +2.213s 34
25 Rafael Villagomez Campos Racing 1m36.189s +2.430s 31
26 Clement Novalak Trident 1m36.214s +2.455s 47
27 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m36.233s +2.474s 28
28 Jack Doohan Trident 1m36.514s +2.755s 46
29 David Schumacher Trident 1m36.682s +2.923s 43
30 Tijmen van der Helm HWA Racelab 1m36.763s +3.004s 44