Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Joey Foster takes stunning National FF1600 win at Silverstone from last on the grid

Joey Foster takes stunning National FF1600 win at Silverstone from last on the grid

by Ida Wood

Joey Foster came from last place to take victory in the second BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 race at Silverstone.

The Don Hardman Racing driver, making his first appearance of the season this weekend, rose from 20th on the grid to 15th within a lap and was in 10th by lap six of 15.

Despite rising engine temperatures and a slight loss of top-end power, a symptom of a radiator cap failure in race one, Foster’s Firman was effective in the slipstream and the resurfacing of Silverstone lent itself to extra grip on the outside lines.

He didn’t feature in the lead battle until late on though, as Kevin Mills Racing’s Michael Eastwell and Michael Moyers fought with Team Dolan’s Ross Martin and the trio of Cliff Dempsey Racing drivers.

Martin took the lead on the second lap by passing both KMR drivers around the outside of Brooklands, and kept that lead until Foster eventually made his way to the front.

On lap seven, CDR’s Jonathan Browne snatched second from Eastwell at Brooklands and fended off a responsive move from Eastwell at Becketts next time around.

The battle between the KMR and CDR drivers didn’t allow Martin to escape, but did bring Foster from 10th to fourth within two laps. Browne had fallen down the order, with Foster passing his CDR team-mates Spike Kohlbecker and James Clarke for second place.

Once in second, Foster was immediately on Martin’s tail and one loose moment for the leader at the entry of Brooklands allowed Foster to slip around the outside of the corner.

Foster had his mirrors full of Martin for the remaining two laps but held on to take an unlikely win by 0.091s.

The positions behind them were still changing each lap, and another squabble between the CDR drivers allowed Eastwell to finish third. Browne took fourth, ahead of Moyers and B-M Racing’s Rory Smith.

Smith’s B-M team-mate Tom McArthur rose from 19th on the grid to finish seventh.

James Clarke was eighth, just ahead of KMR’s Michael Macpherson – who fell down the order when pushed off at Luffield early on.

A track limits penalty left Kohlbecker in 14th, meaning he concedes the Triple Crown lead to Martin.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing 15m43.247s
2 Ross Martin Team Dolan +0.091s
3 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing +1.010s
4 Jonathan Browne Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.127s
5 Michael Moyers Kevin Mills Racing +1.658s
6 Rory Smith B-M Racing +1.821s
7 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +1.985s
8 James Clarke Cliff Dempsey Racing +1.996s
9 Michael Macpherson Kevin Mills Racing +2.234s
10 Thomas Capezzone Swift Cooper +2.335s
11 Jamie Sharp Team Dolan +2.885s
12 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +3.297s
13 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +3.619s
14 Spike Kohlbecker Cliff Dempsey Racing +6.519s
15 Kenny Cowie Rotor Racing +14.539s
16 John Svensson John’s Racing Team +14.935s
17 Adam Quartermaine Team Dolan +19.645s
18 Nigel Dolan B-M Racing +20.038s
19 Henry Chart Oldfield Motorsport +25.924s
20 Sam Street SamS Motorsport +1 lap
Fastest lap: Foster, 1m01.955s

Championship standings
1 Martin 505? ?2 Kohlbecker 443? ?3?Neil Maclennan 343? ?4 Browne 343? ?5 Clarke 329? ?6 Smith 304? ?7 Sharp 225? ?8 Macpherson 186? ?9 Quinn 176? ?10 Jamie Thorburn 155