Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Joey Alders joins Formula Renault Eurocup grid for Monza

Joey Alders joins Formula Renault Eurocup grid for Monza

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gregroy Lenormand / DPPI

Joey Alders will make his Formula Renault Eurocup debut with MP Motorsport in this weekend’s Monza season opener.

The Dutchman is the reigning Asian Formula 3 and FR Asiacup champion, and has signed a one-round deal with MP.

He will complete a three-car line-up for the team, alongside Renault Formula 1 junior Hadrien David and Franco Colapinto, who has not signed for a full season as he struggles with budget.

“I will do the races this weekend, [and] the target is winning,” Alders told Formula Scout.

According to Alders, his results at Monza will dictate whether he returns two weeks later to race at Imola, and then in any rounds beyond that in the third MP car that is being eyed up by several drivers.

“Winning helps for sponsorships, so I can complete the season,” he added.

The 20-year-old was second fastest on day two of the pre-event test at Monza, only bettered by ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins.

Day one pacesetter Colapinto set the pace in the morning by 0.082 seconds from Bhaitech’s Lorenzo Colombo, and sat at the top for much of the afternoon.

Most drivers improved on their laptimes in the final half-hour of the second four hour session, but Colapinto set few laps and fell to 11th, while Colombo went out in the final few minutes to jump to fourth. Their morning times were enough to put them third and fourth overall respectively, with ART’s Gregoire Saucy just behind them in fifth.

Besides Arden’s French Formula 4 graduate Reshad de Gerus, who ran the least laps on day one, the field was closely matched and little over half a second covered the top 12.

Of the unsigned drivers, FA Racing by Manor’s Tijmen van der Helm was the fastest in seventh place.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m47.115s 79
2 Joey Alders MP Motorsport 1m47.312s +0.197s 47
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m47.322s +0.207s 37
4 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech 1m47.404s +0.289s 88
5 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m47.416s +0.301s 81
6 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m47.446s +0.331s 84
7 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor 1m47.564s +0.449s 44
8 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m47.624s +0.509s 64
9 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP 1m47.640s +0.525s 74
10 Alex Quinn Arden 1m47.667s +0.552s 73
11 Mikhael Belov M2 Competition 1m47.691s +0.576s 72
12 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m47.692s +0.577s 76
13 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor 1m47.852s +0.737s 52
14 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m47.882s +0.767s 80
15 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m48.050s +0.935s 93
16 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m48.062s +0.947s 37
17 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m48.184s +1.069s 80
18 Reshad de Gerus Arden 1m48.458s +1.343s 77