Home Featured Jenzer’s Taylor Barnard ends FIA F3 testing on top in quiet final session

Jenzer’s Taylor Barnard ends FIA F3 testing on top in quiet final session

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jenzer Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard topped the final session of FIA Formula 3’s post-season running on a quiet afternoon at Jerez.

As teams reached the end of their tyre allocations, most of the running completed on Friday afternoon had a focus on long-run pace, and Barnard only set 17 laps – less than half of what most drivers were doing – with his fastest time coming on just his second flying lap.

That was set in the opening 10 minutes of the three-hour session, and he initially had an advantage of over half a second at the top of the times with his 1m31.280s effort.

Nikita Bedrin was second fastest at this point, and the two Jenzer drivers both had the logo of their ADAC Formula 4 team PHM Racing on the side of their cars. PHM is rumoured to be interested in entering FIA F3 in the near future.

Campos Racing’s Hugh Barter and Pepe Marti demoted Bedrin to fourth place after 20 minutes, then later in the first hour they improved and swapped places in second and third with Marti lapping 0.21s slower than Barnard.

Having only set five laps total in the first hour, Barnard set another six (including the outlap) in the second hour as most spent their time in the pits. The only change was MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto rising to 10th place.

None of the drivers in the top 10 at that point would improve after that, with further lengthy spells spent pit-bound. Barnard set another six laps, while Campos and Prema’s driver were in and out of the pits until they surpassed the 50-lap mark.

Some more improvements eventually came in the last half-hour, with Carlin’s Hadrien David and ART Grand Prix’s Brad Benavides bettering their own pace several times. Benavides ended the session sixth, 0.558s off Barnard’s pace, and David was seventh fastest.

Another late improver was Joel Granfors, with the Carlin driving jumping to 10th towards the very end of the session.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.280s 17
2 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m31.489s +0.210s 52
3 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 1m31.610s +0.330s 53
4 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.802s +0.522s 31
5 Francesco Pizzi Campos Racing 1m31.806s +0.526s 47
6 Brad Benavides ART Grand Prix 1m31.838s +0.558s 35
7 Hadrien David Carlin 1m31.849s +0.569s 38
8 Matias Zagazeta Charouz Racing System 1m31.942s +0.662s 44
9 Max Esterson Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.962s +0.682s 42
10 Joel Granfors MP Motorsport 1m32.143s +0.863s 38
11 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m32.345s +1.065s 29
12 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.410s +1.130s 40
13 Alessandro Famularo Charouz Racing System 1m32.586s +1.306s 29
14 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m32.739s +1.459s 37
15 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident 1m32.901s +1.621s 46
16 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m32.937s +1.657s 47
17 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m33.184s +1.904s 32
18 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m33.341s +2.061s 45
19 Nicola Marinangeli Charouz Racing System 1m33.561s +2.281s 39
20 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP 1m33.611s +2.331s 46
21 Paul Aron Prema 1m33.621s +2.341s 51
22 Oliver Goethe Trident 1m33.693s +2.414s 38
23 Arias Deukmedjian Carlin 1m33.719s +2.439s 33
24 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m33.747s +2.467s 51
25 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP 1m33.761s +2.481s 30
26 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.020s +2.740s 24
27 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m34.052s +2.773s 44
28 Zak O’Sullivan Prema 1m34.104s +2.824s 54
29 Roberto Faria ART Grand Prix 1m34.704s +3.424s 37
30 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.900s +3.620s 32