Home Featured Jamie Caroline wins on BRDC British F3 debut in Spa reversed-grid race

Jamie Caroline wins on BRDC British F3 debut in Spa reversed-grid race

by Tim Lumb

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Jamie Caroline took victory on only his second BRDC British Formula 3 start, coming from eighth to win the reversed-grid race at Spa-Francorchamps.

Caroline, who joined the team for this round, surged up the order and into second place after the opening lap thanks to incidents in the first corner and a pass on the outside of Ayrton Simmons at Blanchimont.

The British driver quickly caught up to Fortec’s Tristan Charpentier, taking over the lead half-way through the race, then proceeded to create a gap to the Frenchman.

Although Hillspeed’s Sasakorn Chaimongkol – who started the race one place behind Caroline in ninth -? was on the back of Charpentier during the final few laps of the race, but?couldn’t find the time to make a move to claim second place.

Polesitter Simmons had to settle for fourth for Chris Dittmann Racing after being passed by Chaimongkol on the fourth lap of the race.

Double R Racing’s Krishnaraaj Mahadik was able to hold off? Jamie Chadwick to keep fifth position after passing the Douglas Motorsport driver on lap 5 of 9. Caroline’s Carlin team-mate Sun Yue Yang ended his race in seventh.

After starting the race in last, championship leader Linus Lundqvist was able to move up to eighth position by the chequered flag. He was as high as seventh late in the race, but had to hold off Hillspeed driver Jusuf Owega on the final lap.

Kush Maini rounded off the top 10 for Lanan?Racing, five-tenths of a second behind Lundqvist and Owega.


Race results
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jamie Caroline Carlin 21m11.097s
2 Tristan Charpentier Fortec Motorsports +3.085s
3 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +3.586s
4 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +4.575s
5 Krishnaraaj Mahadik Double R Racing +6.245s
6 Jamie Chadwick Douglas Motorsport +6.638s
7 Sun Yue Yang Carlin +7.307s
8 Linus Lundqvist Double R Racing +8.504s
9 Jusuf Owega Hillspeed +8.529s
10 Kush Maini Lanan Racing +9.064s
11 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +10.545s
12 Nicolai Kjaergaard Carlin +12.356s
13 Billy Monger Carlin +12.782s
14 Ben Hurst Hillspeed +13.502s
15 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +28.187s
16 Arvin Esmaeili Douglas Motorsport +29.394s
17 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +52.716s
18 Tom Gamble Fortec Motorsports DNF