Home Featured Jak Crawford quickest in messy FIA F3 practice at Zandvoort

Jak Crawford quickest in messy FIA F3 practice at Zandvoort

by Sam Williams

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Jak Crawford went quickest for Hitech GP in the FIA Formula 3 Championship’s first track session at Zandvoort.

Trident’s Clement Novalak and David Schumacher set the pace initially on the reprofiled circuit, before a mid-session red flag when Crawford’s team-mate and fellow Red Bull junior Ayumu Iwasa brought gravel onto the track.

After a lengthy delay, the gravel was cleared and the session resumed. 

Once the drivers went out, the red flags were back out too as MP Motorsports local Tijment van der Helm went wide and clipped a barrier.

There was just over five minutes remaining when the session restarted after that, and Crawford climbed to the top ahead of ART Grand Prix duo Alexander Smolyar and Frederik Vesti.

Championship leader Dennis Hauger was fourth, with his Prema team-mates Arthur Leclerc and Olli Caldwell down in 13th and 21st.

Novalak was shuffled down to fifth by the end, ahead of team-mate Jack Doohan, Johnathan Hoggard (Jenzer Motorsport), Victor Martins (MP), and Carlin’s Jonny Edgar and Kalyen Frederick. It was Frederick’s first time back in the car after missing the past four races due to a thumb injury.

Free practice results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m25.535s 14
2 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m25.658s +0.123s 16
3 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m25.692s +0.157s 15
4 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m25.700s +0.165s 15
5 Clement Novalak Trident 1m25.837s +0.302s 12
6 Jack Doohan Trident 1m25.863s +0.328s 12
7 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m25.864s +0.329s 15
8 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m25.944s +0.409s 15
9 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m26.031s +0.496s 11
10 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m26.126s +0.591s 15
11 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m26.181s +0.646s 12
12 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m26.354s +0.819s 15
13 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m26.447s +0.912s 15
14 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m26.463s +0.928s 14
15 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m26.470s +0.935s 11
16 Ralf Schumacher Trident 1m26.537s +1.002s 15
17 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m26.612s +1.077s 15
18 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m26.709s +1.174s 15
19 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m26.843s +1.308s 12
20 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m26.918s +1.383s 13
21 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m26.930s +1.395s 15
22 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m27.096s +1.561s 15
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m27.109s +1.574s 13
24 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m27.262s +1.727s 12
25 Hunter Yeany Charouz Racing System 1m27.687s +2.152s 14
26 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m27.771s +2.236s 13
27 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m27.854s +2.319s 13
28 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m28.342s +2.807s 11
29 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m28.802s +3.267s 10
30 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz Racing System 1m29.098s +3.563s 15