Home Formula 4British F4 Jack Doohan wins reversed grid British F4 race at Silverstone

Jack Doohan wins reversed grid British F4 race at Silverstone

by Ida Wood

Jack Doohan controlled the reversed grid British Formula 4 race at Silverstone, in which championship leader Kiern Jewiss overtook three drivers on the final lap to take third.

Jewiss’s title rival Ayrton Simmons started the race from pole, and immediately engaged in battle with Arden’s Dennis Hauger. The latter briefly took the lead, before both were overtaken by Hauger’s Arden team-mates Patrik Pasma and Doohan.

Pasma and Doohan ran side by side until Brooklands, where Doohan took the lead. The Australian couldn’t stretch out a lead though, as a multi-car incident at Copse left the race under safety car conditons for several laps.

JHR Developments’ Josh Skelton has rearended Double R Racing’s Sebastian Alvarez going into the first corner of the second, with Lucca Allen also going off. Alvarez and Allen had to be recovered from the gravel.

Doohan got a jump on his rivals heading into Brooklands on the restart, giving him a comfortable margin that he extended through the rest of the race. The victory was his third of the season.

Pasma looked comfortable in second as a result of Simmons and Hauger continuing their battle for position behind him for third. In the closing stages of the race this brought race one winner Johnathan Hoggard and Jewiss into play, with Jewiss taking fifth from Hoggard around the outside of Copse on the final lap.

He quickly closed up on Hauger, who had had his attacks rebuffed by Simmons at Copse, Maggotts and Brooklands. Simmons’ defence through Brooklands allowed Jewiss to draw alongside Hauger through Luffield, and then inside Simmons through Woodcote. The three drivers crossed the line in a photo finish, with Jewiss leading Simmons and Hauger.

Hoggard finished sixth, ahead of Manuel Sulaiman.

Jamie Sharp was denied eighth and then ninth place late in the race by Seb Priaulx and Josh Skelton. After making it to the pits for repairs and just staying on the lead lap, Skelton spent the second half of the race chasing down the top 10.

Having been denied his championship debut in race one due to crash damage, Rosso Verde Racing/Scorpio Motorsport driver Christian Lester marked his first race appearance with 11th place and a new rear end.

Paavo Tonteri failed to finish the race after multiple trips to the pits and a puncture.


Race results (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jack Doohan Arden 20m40.276s
2 Patrik Pasma Arden +2.899s
3 Kiern Jewiss Double R Racing +6.392s
4 Ayrton Simmons JHR Developments +6.398s
5 Dennis Hauger Arden +6.482s
6 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +6.950s
7 Manuel Sulaiman JHR Developments +8.140s
8 Seb Priaulx Arden +12.669s
9 Josh Skelton JHR Developments +14.260s
10 Jamie Sharp Sharp Motorsport +14.622s
11 Christian Lester Rosso Verde/Scorpio +41.386s
Ret Paavo Tonteri Double R Racing
Ret Lucca Allen Fortec Motorsports
Ret Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing
Fastest lap: Doohan, 56.990s

Championship Standings
1?Jewiss 386? ?2 Simmons 342? ?3 Hauger 305 ??4 Doohan 299? ?5 Pasma 267? ?6 Hoggard 256? ?7 Tonteri 223 ??8 Priaulx 220? ?9 Skelton 83? ?10 Sulaiman 81