Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Jack Doohan sets Monday afternoon FIA F3 test pace at Barcelona

Jack Doohan sets Monday afternoon FIA F3 test pace at Barcelona

by Josh Suttill

Red Bull junior Jack Doohan was quickest in the afternoon session on the first day of FIA Formula 3 Championship’s post-season test at Barcelona.

Doohan is testing with Trident this week, having completed his maiden FIA F3 season with HWA Racelab. He struggled to 26th in the drivers’ championship without a point to his name.

The Australian teenager set a 1m33.068s in the final 20 minutes of the session, eclipsing Jenzer Motorsport’s Calan Williams by just 0.002s. Doohan’s benchmark is almost nine-tenths slower than Matteo Nannini’s session-topping time from the morning.

Another Red Bull junior Dennis Hauger rounded out the top three for Prema, with his 2019 ADAC F4 title rival Roman Stanek fourth fastest for ART Grand Prix.

Current Formula Renault Eurocup championship leader Victor Martins was fifth quickest for ART ahead of third Red Bull junior Igor Fraga. Hitech GP driver Fraga was on top of the timesheet along with Williams for much of the middle of the session.

Fresh from winning all three races in Formula Regional European Championship’s latest round at Mugello, Ferrari junior Arthur Leclerc was seventh fastest in the second Prema-run machine. With 20 minutes left of the session to go, Prema’s drivers were briefly filling the top three spots.

Ben Barnicoat – one day after winning on his Euroformula cameo at Mugello – was eighth for Carlin and sat in the top three for a long time before drivers started to make improvements in the final 40 minutes of the three-hour session.

Pierre-Louis Chovet (Campos Racing) and Olli Caldwell (ART GP) rounded out the top 10.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Doohan Trident 1m33.068s 35
2 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.070s +0.002s 28
3 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m33.304s +0.236s 44
4 Roman Stanek ART Grand Prix 1m33.345s +0.277s 45
5 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m33.376s +0.308s 44
6 Igor Fraga Hitech GP 1m33.619s +0.551s 29
7 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m33.705s +0.637s 41
8 Ben Barnicoat Carlin 1m33.718s +0.650s 25
9 Pierre-Louis Chovet Campos Racing 1m33.723s +0.655s 33
10 Olli Caldwell ART Grand Prix 1m33.743s +0.675s 42
11 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m33.816s +0.748s 50
12 David Schumacher Prema 1m33.827s +0.759s 43
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m33.891s +0.823s 44
14 Sophia Floersch Carlin 1m33.931s +0.863s 26
15 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m33.965s +0.897s 33
16 Alessandro Famularo Campos Racing 1m33.988s +0.920s 34
17 Matteo Nannini Campos Racing 1m34.053s +0.985s 33
18 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.068s +1.000s 27
19 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport 1m34.139s +1.071s 44
20 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m34.260s +1.192s 17
21 Clement Novalak Trident 1m34.388s +1.320s 21
22 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m34.389s +1.321s 41
23 Oliver Rasmussen Hitech GP 1m34.611s +1.543s 33
24 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m34.648s +1.580s 26
25 William Alatalo HWA Racelab 1m34.882s +1.814s 51
26 Patrik Pasma Charouz Racing System 1m34.911s +1.843s 45
27 Rafal Villagomez Trident 1m35.062s +1.994s 42
28 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.387s +2.319s 29
29 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m35.559s +2.491s 62
30 Josef Knopp Charouz Racing System 1m35.758s +2.690s 35