Home Featured Igor Fraga leads final session of FIA F3 post-season testing for Hitech

Igor Fraga leads final session of FIA F3 post-season testing for Hitech

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Igor Fraga was fastest for Hitech GP in the final session of FIA Formula 3 post-season test at Jerez on Wednesday afternoon.

Fraga has spent all four days of post-season testing across Barcelona and Jerez with Hitech after an attempted move to the team for the final round at Mugello was allegedly blocked.

The Toyota Racing Series champion went to the top of the times on his fourth lap of the afternoon session and stayed there as he completed a total of 55 laps during the three hours.

His time of 1m30.091s was just over a second off the best time of the test set by Trident’s Jack Doohan on Wednesday morning.

Third in the morning, Calan Williams took second in the afternoon for Jenzer Motorsport with another early effort, 0.147s from Fraga.

Rookie Caio Collet sprung into third place with 14 minutes of the session remaining, the Renault junior having switched from Prema to ART for the second day of the test.

Prema pair Dennis Hauger and Arthur Leclerc took fourth and sixth, separated late on by Johnathan Hoggard driving for Campos Racing.

Behind Carlin’s Cameron Das in seventh, three 2020 F3 race-winners rounded out the top 10, with Frederik Vesti (ART) ahead of David Beckmann (Charouz) and Bent Viscaal (MP Motorsport).

Fraga’s fellow Hitech driver Matteo Nannini, driving for his fourth team in as many days of testing, recorded more laps than any other driver during the afternoon, with 59.

Doohan and his Trident team-mates Clement Novalak and David Schumacher were all over two seconds off Fraga’s time in the afternoon having not chased the quickest times.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Igor Fraga Hitech GP 1m30.091s 55
2 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.238s +0.147s 36
3 Caio Collet ART Grand Prix 1m30.259s +0.168s 43
4 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m30.334s +0.243s 35
5 Johnathan Hoggard Campos Racing 1m30.543s +0.452s 33
6 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m30.564s +0.474s 31
7 Cameron Das Carlin 1m30.570s +0.479s 33
8 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m30.620s +0.529s 41
9 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m30.670s +0.579s 34
10 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m30.768s +0.677s 32
11 Oliver Rasmussen Prema 1m30.772s +0.681s 35
12 Matteo Nannini Hitech GP 1m30.832s +0.741s 59
13 Olli Caldwell ART Grand Prix 1m30.944s +0.853s 42
14 Sophia Floersch HWA 1m31.088s +0.997s 46
15 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m31.142s +1.051s 53
16 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA 1m31.153s +1.062s 55
17 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.503s +1.412s 41
18 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m31.700s +1.609s 33
19 Pierre Louis Chovet HWA 1m31.721s +1.630s 55
20 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m31.793s +1.702s 34
21 Alessandro Famularo Campos Racing 1m31.828s +1.738s 29
22 Rafael Villagomez Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.858s +1.767s 37
23 Konsta Lappalainen Charouz Racing System 1m31.929s +1.838s 56
24 Francesco Pizzi MP Motorsport 1m32.021s +1.930s 40
25 Jack Doohan Trident 1m32.294s +2.203s 50
26 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m32.426s +2.335s 54
27 Clement Novalak Trident 1m32.468s +2.377s 56
28 David Schumacher Trident 1m32.715s +2.625s 43
29 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m32.954s +2.863s 48
30 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m32.976s +2.885s 48