Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Abarth Iaquinta wins race one at Misano amidst problems for poleman Rovera

Iaquinta wins race one at Misano amidst problems for poleman Rovera

by Gruz David


Simone Iaquinta took his fourth victory of the season in race one of the penultimate event of the championship at Misano.

Iaquinta, who started from the front row, took advantage of an early mistake by poleman Alessio Rovera and kept his lead during the whole race.

Iaquinta wasn’t the only one to pass Rovera, as the championship leader was dropping lap after lap due to a seeming mechanical problem, eventually finishing in last. Despite Michele Beretta putting pressure on Iaquinta, he had to settle for second, closely followed by Dario Orsini in third.

Giorgio Roda finished fourth right in front of National Trophy winner Sergey Trofimov. Series returnee Alessandro Perullo came home sixth despite a spin during the race, while?Lukas Moraes, Vitaly Larionov, Sabino de Casto and Rovera rounded out the field.

Should Rovera get four points more than Iaquinta over the remainder of the Misano round, he will be crowned champion this weekend, provided both aren’t severely outscored by Beretta.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Simone Iaquinta GSK Motorsport 30:39.663
2 Michele Beretta Euronova by Fortec + 2.780
3 Dario Orsini NBC Group +?4.903
4 Giorgio Roda Cram Motorsport +?21.179
5 Sergey Trofimov Euronova by Fortec +?23.032
6 Alessandro Perullo Technorace +?31.753
7 Lukas Moraes Facondini Racing +?43.573
8 Vitaly Larionov Euronova by Fortec +?47.736
9 Sabino De Castro AB Motorsport +?56.508
10 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport +?2 Laps
Championship standings
Pos. Driver Team Pts.
1 Alessio Rovera Cram Motorsport 186
2 Simone Iaquinta GSK Motorsport 132
3 Michele Beretta Euronova Racing by Fortec 126
4 Lukas Moraes Facondini Racing 104
5 Dario Orsini NBC Group 82
6 Giorgio Roda Cram Motorsport 60
7 Luis Michael Dorrbecker Team Torino Motorsport 52
8 Federico Pezzolla Best Lap 49
9 Marco Tolama Tomcat Racing 24
10 Kevin Gilardoni GSK Motorsport 22
11 Aku Pellinen GSK Motorsport 21
12 Loris Spinelli Best Lap 18
13 Giada De Zen Cram Motorsport 13
14 Dzhon Simonyan GSK Motorsport 9