Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Haverkort on top in post-season FREC testing at Red Bull Ring

Haverkort on top in post-season FREC testing at Red Bull Ring

by Ida Wood

Photo: Diederik van der Laan / DPPA

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Kas Haverkort was fastest in the post-season test for Formula Regional European Championship teams at the Red Bull Ring this week.

Haverkort was fastest in the Tuesday morning and Wednesday afternoon sessions in the two-day test, starting the action on day one with a 1m26.627s lap. That put him 0.023 seconds ahead of R-ace GP’s Tim Tramnitz, with the top 15 drivers covered by less than a second on pace.

Third fastest was ART Grand Prix’s Laurens van Hoepen, and fourth was Trident’s Roman Bilinski. Trident only attended Tueday’s sessions.

Tramnitz was fastest in the afternoon, lowering the pace to 1m26.307s and bettering Haverkort by 0.082s. Race Performance Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos was third, and this time the top 18 were within a second.

Van Hoepen came to the fore on Wednesday morning, topping the timesheet with a 1m26.275s lap. He was just 0.035s faster than Ramos, with Tramnitz in third.

Prema added a third car for the afternoon, which was the fastest session for the majority of drivers. Haverkort and Tramnitz both improved, with Haverkort ending the test on a 1m26.170s lap and Tramnitz in second place with a 1m26.259s effort.

Van Hoepen, Ramos and R-P-M’s Jose Garfias were third, fourth and fifth overall based on their Wednesday morning times, while Trident’s Owen Tangavelou in sixth and R-ace’s Aiden Neate in ninth were two of only three drivers to set their fastest lap in session two. Just outside the top 10 was Roman Bilinski, the only driver not to improve on their session one best.

Other FREC teams tested at the track on different dates, alongside teams from Euroformula.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kas Haverkort VAR 1m26.170s 171
2 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m26.259s +0.089s 188
3 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m26.275s +0.105s 171
4 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m26.310s +0.140s 118
5 Jose Garfias R-P-M 1m26.330s +0.160s 124
6 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m26.505s +0.335s 77
7 Rafael Camara Prema 1m26.584s +0.414s 133
8 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m26.701s +0.531s 159
9 Aiden Neate R-ace GP 1m26.792s +0.622s 175
10 Noel Leon ART Grand Prix 1m26.798s +0.628s 178
11 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m26.802s +0.632s 73
12 Joshua Dufek VAR 1m26.815s +0.645s 163
13 Matias Zagazeta ART Grand Prix 1m26.843s +0.673s 184
14 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m26.869s +0.699s 177
15 Levente Revesz MP Motorsport 1m26.878s +0.708s 179
16 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m26.919s +0.749s 162
17 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m26.954s +0.784s 86
18 Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix 1m26.976s +0.806s 202
19 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 1m27.020s +0.850s 164
20 Roberto Faria R-ace GP 1m27.062s +0.892s 161
21 Adam Fitzgerald R-P-M 1m27.206s +1.036s 169
22 Iker Oikarinen KIC Motorsport 1m27.368s +1.198s 218
23 #17 Prema 1m27.499s +1.329s 22
24 Enzo Scionti MP Motorsport 1m27.560s +1.390s 176
25 Niels Koolen VAR 1m27.943s +1.773s 170
26 Lucas Medina Monolite Racing 1m28.299s +2.129s 131
27 Adam Bence Kovacs Monolite Racing 1m28.436s +2.266s 159