Home Featured Hauger tops qualifying, Edgar on pole for F3 opener

Hauger tops qualifying, Edgar on pole for F3 opener

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Dennis Hauger earned pole position in a closely fought opening qualifying session of the 2021 FIA Formula 3 Championship season at Barcelona.

The top three at the end of qualifying were separated by less than a tenth of a second, while Trident’s Jack Doohan was denied pole position by just 0.006s.

Hauger’s 1m32.904s lap that beats him puts the Prema on pole for Sunday’s third and final race of the weekend in the first use of the series’ new format.

Doohan set the pace early in qualifying and was quickest ahead of Hauger after the first round of competitive laps. Both drivers found improvements in their final laps of the session, but Doohan didn’t qute have enough to retain the top spot.

Nobody could touch the top two in the closing stages, but third place changed hands three times as the final laps came in.

ART Grand Prix’s Frederick Vesti moved up to third with a 1m33.173s lap, only to be bumped down to fourth by a flying Matteo Nannini for HWA Racelab

Formula Renault Eurocup champion Victor Martins was one of the final drivers to take the chequered flag at the end of the session and the MP Motorsport driver jumped up to third, just 0.061s behind Hauger.

His 2020 title rival and F3 team-mate Caio Collet also improved on his final lap to jump into the top 10, knocking Juan Manuel Correa outside the top 12 and denying the ART GP driver reversed grid pole for his motorsport comeback.

Pole for the first race of the weekend goes the way of Carlin’s Jonny Edgar, who was 12th fastest and benefits most from the top 12 being flipped.

Vesti ended the session P5, ahead of Prema’s Olli Caldwell and Trident’s Clement Novalak.

Logan Sargeant, who was only announced as racing earlier this week, put in an impressive performance for Charouz to go eighth quickest, ahead of David Schumacher and Collet.

Qualifying results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m32.904s 12
2 Jack Doohan Trident 1m32.910s +0.006s 12
3 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m32.965s +0.061s 12
4 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m33.113s +0.209s 11
5 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m33.173s +0.269s 12
6 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m33.184s +0.280s 12
7 Clement Novalak Trident 1m33.225s +0.321s 11
8 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m33.263s +0.359s 10
9 David Schumacher Trident 1m33.274s +0.370s 11
10 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m33.305s +0.401s 12
11 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m33.355s +0.451s 12
12 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m33.370s +0.466s 12
13 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m33.459s +0.555s 12
14 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m33.522s +0.618s 11
15 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m33.535s +0.631s 12
16 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m33.637s +0.733s 11
17 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m33.675s +0.771s 11
18 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m33.806s +0.902s 10
19 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m33.865s +0.961s 11
20 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m33.876s +0.972s 11
21 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.881s +0.977s 11
22 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m33.908s +1.004s 11
23 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m33.961s +1.057s 12
24 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m34.024s +1.120s 10
25 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m34.191s +1.287s 11
26 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m34.333s +1.429s 11
27 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m34.470s +1.566s 11
28 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m34.775s +1.871s 10
29 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.778s +1.874s 11
30 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.132s +2.228s 13