Home Featured Hauger tops practice for FIA F3’s Barcelona season opener

Hauger tops practice for FIA F3’s Barcelona season opener

by Joe Hudson

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema’s Dennis Hauger topped the first FIA Formula 3 Championship free practice session of the year, going comfortably fastest of the 30-car field at Barcelona.

Two days of pre-season testing took place at the circuit a few weeks ago, and the majority of the field was quick to get out on track in the single practice session to fine-tune their Dallara F3 2019s ahead of the three 22-lap races this weekend.

Campos Racing’s Amaury Cordeel set the first representative laptime with a 1m34.414s but as the 45-minute practice reached the halfway point, Hauger put in a rapid lap to go quickest.

His 1m33.596s was more than two tenths of a second faster than anyone else, with MP Motorsport’s circuit specialist Victor Martins the driver who got closest.

Frederik Vesti (ART Grand Prix), Arthur Leclerc (Prema) and Alexander Smolyar (ART GP) were the only other drivers to dip into the 1m33s, in a field where the top 20 were covered by just over a second.

Clement Novalak was sixth fastest for Trident, despite sitting in the pits for the first half of the session, 0.040s ahead of Charouz Racing System’s late signing Logan Sargeant. Fellow Trident racer Jack Doohan was within a tenth of his team-mate in eighth.

MP’s Caio Collet and Prema’s Olli Caldwell rounded out the top 10, the latter just 0.6s slower than his pace-setting team-mate.

Further down the order, Juan Manuel Correa was 23rd for ART GP in his first competitive outign since his Formula 2 crash at Spa-Francorchamps in 2019.

There was just one interruption, as Carlin’s Jonny Edgar came to a halt at turn 4 on his out-lap just five minutes into the session. He managed to get the car back to the pits and re-join practice, and the Formula 4 graduate ended up 19th fastest.

Free practice results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m33.596s 13
2 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m33.811s +0.215s 13
3 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m33.871s +0.275s 11
4 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m33.923s +0.327s 13
5 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m33.934s +0.338s 12
6 Clement Novalak Trident 1m34.089s +0.493s 8
7 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m34.129s +0.533s 12
8 Jack Doohan Trident 1m34.151s +0.555s 8
9 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m34.166s +0.570s 13
10 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m34.235s +0.639s 13
11 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m34.283s +0.687s 15
12 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m34.324s +0.728s 11
13 David Schumacher Trident 1m34.383s +0.787s 8
14 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m34.409s +0.813s 14
15 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m34.415s +0.819s 14
16 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m34.459s +0.863s 12
17 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.481s +0.885s 15
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m34.524s +0.928s 12
19 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m34.569s +0.973s 13
20 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m34.620s +1.024s 13
21 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m34.783s +1.187s 13
22 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m35.079s +1.483s 16
23 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m35.102s +1.506s 13
24 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m35.130s +1.534s 10
25 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m35.163s +1.567s 17
26 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m35.355s +1.759s 12
27 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m35.466s +1.870s 18
28 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m35.575s +1.979s 12
29 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.701s +2.105s 14
30 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.818s +2.222s 16