Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship FREC leader Saucy fastest in free practice at Barcelona

FREC leader Saucy fastest in free practice at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: Xavi Bonilla / Dutch Photo Agency

ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy edged R-ace GP’s Hadrien David in free practice for the second Formula Regional European Championship round of the season at Barcelona.

The pair were comfortably faster than the rest of the 34-car field, as they had been in pre-season testing, with KIC Motorsport’s Patrik Pasma four tenths of a second back in third. The same gap covered third to 10th place.

David and his R-ace team-mates started the session on top, setting laps in the low 1m43s, before the Prema drivers went out together and rose to the top and then MP Motorsport returnee Franco Colapinto went fastest with a 1m42.670s.

Colapinto, who missed the season opener due to clashing European Le Mans Series commitments, remained the pacesetter until the final 10 minutes when Pasma became the first driver to break into the 1m41s.

Saucy and David then went significantly faster with five minutes to go, setting the order at the top.

Arden’s William Alatalo was 0.005s slower than Pasma in third, and Zane Maloney made it two R-ace cars in the top five.

Next up were the three Prema drivers, with Isack Hadjar (R-ace) and Lorenzo Fluxa (Van Amersfoort Racing) completing the top 10.

ART’s Thomas ten Brinke, who missed the season opener due to a positive COVID-19 test, was within a second of the pace in 13th place.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m41.288s
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP +0.054s
3 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +0.420s
4 William Alatalo Arden +0.425s
5 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +0.524s
6 Dino Beganovic Prema +0.528s
7 Paul Aron Prema +0.718s
8 David Vidales Prema +0.789s
9 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +0.807s
10 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +0.820s
11 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +0.921s
12 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +0.934s
13 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +0.951s
14 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +1.193s
15 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +1.242s
16 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +1.316s
17 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +1.418s
18 Alex Quinn Arden +1.554s
19 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +1.567s
20 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +1.825s
21 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +2.058s
22 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +2.083s
23 Belen Garcia G4 Racing +2.248s
24 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +2.261s
25 Alessandro Famularo G4 Racing +2.376s
26 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +2.448s
27 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +2.474s
28 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +2.665s
29 Brad Benavides DR Formula +2.713s
30 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +2.806s
31 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +3.217s
32 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing +3.270s
33 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +3.286s
34 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +3.538s