Home Featured Hauger takes pole, Collet denied in Red Bull Ring F3 qualifying

Hauger takes pole, Collet denied in Red Bull Ring F3 qualifying

by Sam Williams

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Red Bull-backed points leader Dennis Hauger has taken pole position for the third round of the FIA Formula 3 Championship at the Red Bull Ring.

With 30 drivers taking on the shortest circuit on the calendar, track position was everything with the potential for traffic to make or break drivers’ weekends.

With a hint of rain in the air, the timesheets heated up early with ART’s Frederik Vesti topping the sheets at the halfway mark.

The top of the grid was closely knitted together, with only 0.3 seconds separating P10 from P1 going into the final 10 minutes of running.

Before the final round of times came drama in the pitlane with damage to Reshad de Gerus’s car after contact with Johnathan Hoggard, closely followed by a red flag for an issue for Ido Cohen.

The session resumed with eight minutes to go and drivers were very much under pressure to find track position and to improve their times in the dying stages.

In the final minutes MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet moved onto pole position, but once the time had run out, he was found guilty of exceeding track limits and his time deleted, dropping him to fourth.

Hauger therefore took pole position for Prema ahead of Vesti in second and Alex Smolyar third.

The third row was one to keep an eye on, with the times changing dramatically. Jak Crawford ultimately took fifth after spending most of the session in second. The American was closely ahead of Novalak in sixth and Jack Doohan in seventh.

Practice pace-setter Olli Caldwell took eighth followed by Prema team-mate Arthur Leclerc, who found himself in the thick of traffic early on, and Victor Martins.

In the battle for race one reversed-grid pole position, Matteo Nannini in 11th was closely followed by Logan Sargeant in 12th, meaning Sargeant is set to start on pole for tomorrow’s race.

Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m19.726s 15
2 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m19.754s +0.028s 15
3 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m19.801s +0.075s 15
4 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m19.809s +0.083s 15
5 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m19.817s +0.091s 15
6 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m19.829s +0.103s 16
7 Jack Doohan Trident 1m19.887s +0.161s 14
8 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m19.900s +0.174s 15
9 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m19.975s +0.249s 15
10 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m20.003s +0.277s 15
11 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m20.070s +0.344s 16
12 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m20.101s +0.375s 15
13 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m20.112s +0.386s 15
14 David Schumacher Trident 1m20.148s +0.422s 16
15 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m20.188s +0.462s 14
16 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m20.235s +0.509s 15
17 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m20.326s +0.600s 16
18 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m20.444s +0.718s 16
19 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m20.463s +0.737s 16
20 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m20.634s +0.908s 15
21 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m20.672s +0.946s 15
22 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m20.676s +0.950s 16
23 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m20.680s +0.954s 15
24 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m20.690s +0.964s 15
25 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m20.762s +1.036s 15
26 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m20.943s +1.217s 15
27 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.078s +1.352s 16
28 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m21.292s +1.566s 15
29 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.451s +1.725s 15
30 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m21.536s +1.810s 10