Home Featured Hauger snatches FIA F3 Zandvoort pole from Schumacher

Hauger snatches FIA F3 Zandvoort pole from Schumacher

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Dennis Hauger extended his FIA Formula 3 Championship lead to 29 points by taking his third pole of the season at Zandvoort.

The 30-minute session was delayed by 15 minutes due to clean-up from the W Series session that took place prior.

When things got going, Hauger and title rival Jack Doohan exchanged times at the top, before several drivers came to the fore as the majority of the field pitted.

Among those were the Hitech GP trio, with Ayumu Iwasa and Jak Crawford slotting themselves into the top four for a period of time behind Prema’s Hauger and Trident’s David Schumacher.

On the second runs, it was Schumacher’s turn to take to the top. Once again, only a handful of drivers took to the track with the rest of the field in the pits, with Campos Racing’s Amaury Cordeel the quickest of those who did.

At the start of the final runs, the momentum was interrupted after Charouz Racing System’s Hunter Yeany spun at Turn 2 into the banked Turn 3. He was able to get going again, reducing the length of the interruption.

The timing screen was largely a mixture of personal bests and inadequate sector times when the session resumed with four minutes to spare. Hauger went fastest in the first two sectors before encountering traffic, but it was still enough for pole.

MP Motorsport’s Alpine-backed driver Victor Martins took third with a late lap, going faster in sector three in the process.

Doohan eventually took fourth ahead of team-mate Clement Novalak, MP’s Caio Collet and Crawford.

ART Grand Prix appeared to lack pace in the session, with Alexander Smolyar its top driver in eighth ahead of Iwasa and Prema’s Arthur Leclerc.

Charouz’s Logan Sargeant ended up 11th and will start on the front row for the reversed grid race one beind Cordeel, who took his best FIA F3 qualifying to date.

Jenzer’s Rafael Villagomez ended the session 13th but is under investigation for missing the weighbridge.

Title contender Frederik Vesti ended up a lowly 14th and has a lot of work to do on the twisty circuit to keep his title hopes alive. Fellow title outsider Olli Caldwell fared even worse and was 16th behind Campos’s Lorenzo Colombo.

Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m24.580s 13
2 David Schumacher Trident 1m24.715s +0.135s 15
3 Victor Martins MP Motorsport 1m24.885s +0.305s 15
4 Jack Doohan Trident 1m24.939s +0.359s 15
5 Clement Novalak Trident 1m24.961s +0.381s 15
6 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m25.031s +0.451s 15
7 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m25.274s +0.694s 14
8 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m25.345s +0.765s 11
9 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m25.403s +0.823s 14
10 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m25.422s +0.842s 13
11 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m25.556s +0.976s 13
12 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m25.567s +0.987s 10
13 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m25.574s +0.994s 14
14 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m25.612s +1.032s 11
15 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m25.612s +1.032s 10
16 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m25.752s +1.172s 11
17 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m25.752s +1.172s 14
18 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m25.786s +1.206s 14
19 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m25.799s +1.219s 13
20 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m25.886s +1.306s 14
21 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m25.892s +1.312s 15
22 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m26.047s +1.467s 13
23 Johnathan Hoggard Jenzer Motorsport 1m26.077s +1.497s 14
24 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m26.157s +1.577s 15
25 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m26.261s +1.681s 15
26 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m26.292s +1.712s 15
27 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m26.409s +1.829s 11
28 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m26.638s +2.058s 11
29 Hunter Yeany Charouz Racing System 1m27.507s +2.927s 14
30 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz Racing System 1m27.726s +3.146s 13