Home Formula 3Euroformula Harrison Scott takes fourth win from five Euroformula Open races

Harrison Scott takes fourth win from five Euroformula Open races

by Ida Wood
Harrison Scott

Photo: Fotospeedy

Harrison Scott started the Paul Ricard Euroformula Open round in style with his third pole and fourth win of the season.

The hard work in the race came at the start on the long run to the Verriere left-hander that began the lap, and Scott did enough to defend his lead.

From there he was unchallenged, pulling away before slowing down on the final lap to finish 3.6 seconds up.

Nikita Troitskiy was a lonely second, with a similar gap to Ameya Vaidyanathan in third.

The Indian had started fourth, hounding Jannes Fittje for eight laps before diving down the inside at the Mistral straight chicane to take the final podium spot on the ninth lap of 15.

Scott?s RP Motorsport team-mate Alex Karkosik looked set to take an impressive fifth place before a mistake under pressure at the double apex Beausset corner cost him a place to Eliseo Martinez.

Petro Florescu headed his feisty Campos team-mates Thiago Vivacqua and Matheus Iorio in seventh, with Pedro Cardoso rounding out the top ten.

The battles outside the points were the most exciting of the race, with 12th to 14th covered by less than a tenth as they crossed the line for the final time.

Carlin team-mates Tarun Reddy and Devlin DeFrancesco were the only two retirees, with Reddy being eliminated when he swept across Christian Hahn at the start and lost his right-rear wheel while DeFrancesco was fifth when he slowed to a halt on lap four.

Race 1 Results (15 laps)

1 Harrison Scott RP Motorsport 30m49.593s
2 Nikita Troitskiy Drivex +3.607s
3 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +6.701s
4 Jannes Fittje Fortec +8.142s
5 Eliseo Martinez Teo Martin +15.927s
6 Alex Karkosik RP Motorsport +16.770s
7 Petru Florescu Campos +17.595s
8 Thiago Vivacqua Campos +20.867s
9 Matheus Iorio Campos +21.703s
10 Pedro Cardoso Teo Martin +24.343s
11 Daniil Pronenko BVM Racing +31.498s
12 Alexey Chuklin Fortec +34.984s
13 Lodovico Laurini RP Motorsport +37.903s
14 Simo Laaksonen Campos +38.083s
15 Christian Hahn Drivex +38.307s
Ret Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin
Ret Tarun Reddy Carlin
Fastest Lap: Scott, 2m02.833s

Championship Standings

1 Scott 124 ??2 Vaidyanathan 73 ??3 Troitskiy 58 ??4 Vivacqua 44 ??5 DeFrancesco 43 ??6 Fittje 42 ??7 Iorio 29 ??8 Florescu 26 ??9 Martinez 21 ??10 Reddy 14