Home Formula 3Euroformula Harrison Scott back to winning ways in second Hungaroring race

Harrison Scott back to winning ways in second Hungaroring race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Normality resumed at the Hungaroring as Harrison Scott once again stood on the top step of the Euroformula Open podium in race two of the weekend.

After losing his race one pole and being consigned to ninth in the Saturday race, Scott had redemption when this time his pole lap stood, ahead of Nikita Troitskiy, debutant Raoul Hyman and Eliseo Martinez.

In a race devoid of overtaking, attention focused on the battle at the front between Scott and championship rival Troitskiy.

Once up front Scott has often been uncatchable this year, but at the Hungaroring building a lead was far more difficult, especially as rival Troitsky -whose Drivex car was put at the top of the timesheets by Jake Dennis in the pre-event test on Thursday- was more often than not quicker in the twisty second sector of the track.

Scott was the better of the two in the final sector though, always having enough of a gap going on to the pit straight to avoid Troitskiy benefiting from his slipstream.

In the closing laps Scott?s smooth style rewarded him as he increased his gap over Troitskiy and strolled across the line to claim his sixth win in eight races.

Troitskiy took his fourth runner-up finish and fastest lap, with debutant Hyman taking a podium and moving into the top ten in the standings despite having only competed in two races.

Devlin DeFrancesco was one of the pre-race favourites to be standing on the podium, but a poor start then led to him going onto the grass on the run to Turn 1 and spearing into Petru Florescu and Pedro Cardoso. DeFrancesco and Florescu were out on the spot.

Another incident further round the lap involving Lodovico Laurini and Jannes Fittje meant the safety car was called out till the end of lap three.

Track limits was an issue as well as many drivers were handed warning flags. The greatest offender was Cardoso, who ended up having nine seconds added to his race time for continuous violation of the rules.

Scott heads into the summer break with a 68 point championship, with the series returning to action at SIlverstone in early September.

Race 2 Results ( laps)
1 Harrison Scott RP Motorsport 33m06.732s
2 Nikita Troitskiy Drivex +1.139s
3 Raoul Hyman Campos +7.839s
4 Simo Laaksonen Campos +11.761s
5 Alex Karkosik RP Motorsport +14.336s
6 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin +15.097s
7 Thiago Vivacqua Campos +18.509s
8 Christian Hahn Drivex +19.144s
9 Matheus Iorio Campos +20.376s
10 Tarun Reddy Carlin +21.476s
11 Eliseo Martinez Teo Martin +22.847s
12 Pedro Cardoso Teo Martin +37.767s
13 Lodovico Laurini RP Motorsport +46.223s
14 Daniil Pronenko BVM Racing +46.689s
Ret Jannes Fittje Fortec
Ret Devlin DeFrancesco Carlin
Ret Petru Florescu Fortec
Fastest Lap: Troitskiy, 1m37.525s

Championship Standings
1 Scott 179 2 Troitskiy 111 3 Vaidyanathan 93 4 Vivacqua 81 5 Fittje 67 6 DeFrancesco 57 7 Laaksonen 45 8 Florescu 40 9 Iorio 31 10 Hyman 28