Home Z - Archive seriesFormula BMW Hansson secures Formula BMW title as Waldherr wins third race

Hansson secures Formula BMW title as Waldherr wins third race

by Peter Allen
Robin Hansson

Photo: BMW AG

Robin Hansson has become the third winner of the Formula BMW Talent Cup after contact with rival Nico Menzel in the final race of the final at Oschersleben.

Michael Waldherr came through to win race three after Hansson and Menzel came together fighting over the lead.

After starting third, Hansson took the lead of the race and was joined at the head of the race by Menzel on lap two. The contact came on lap six when Menzel attempted an overtake but clipped Hansson’s car, spinning off and ending up in the gravel.

Hansson sustained a damaged front wing in the contact but was able to continue albeit it at a reduced pace. Having come into the race with the points lead, finishing the race in seventh was enough to secure the title.

The Swede follows Stefan Wackerbauer and Marvin Dienst as winners of the competition, and will receive funding from BMW for his 2014 season. Dienst has been racing in ADAC Formel Masters this year.

Behind Waldherr, Kaan Onder and James Allen completed the podium. Jules Szymkowiak, Florian Stuger and Bar Baruch rounded out the top six ahead of Hansson.

?It was a sensational day for me,” said 16-year-old Hansson. “I always knew that I can drive fast, as I demonstrated in the first two races. In the third race I had a good duel with Nico for the lead and also the overall victory. Nico wasn?t able to finish the race, but that?s racing. Afterwards I was forced to take stock of the situation and show what was necessary to win the 2013 Formula BMW Talent Cup. The overall victory is magnificent. The whole training experience has improved me as a driver ? and of course it was a whole lot of fun.?

Race three results
Pos Driver Time/Gap
1 Michael Waldherr 26:25.824
2 Kaan Onder +3.428
3 James Allen +4.837
4 Jules Szymkowiak +6.048
5 Florian Stuger +7.027
6 Bar Baruch +7.921
7 Robin Hansson +9.778
8 David Droux +43.925
9 Vivianne Mainusch +1:27.649
Not classified
Nico Menzel
Michael Wolf
Final standings
Pos Driver Points
1 Robin Hansson 49
2 Nico Menzel 40
3 Michael Waldherr 39
4 Florian Stuger 37
5 James Allen 31
6 Jules Szymkowiak 30
7 Kaan Onder 28
8 David Droux 20
9 Bar Baruch 18
10 Michael Wolf 5
11 Vivianne Mainusch 4