Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Hadrien David heads 32-car field on day one of FREC test at Imola

Hadrien David heads 32-car field on day one of FREC test at Imola

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport Series

R-ace GP’s Hadrien David was fastest in both sessions on the opening day of Formula Regional European Championship’s official pre-season test at Imola.

The first red flag of the day came within the first hour of running, at which point David was at the top of the times with a 1m39.547s, with 12 other drivers within a second of his pace.

Prema’s Paul Aron moved up to second at the midpoint of the session with a 1m39.653s lap, and remained there for a quarter of an hour before ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy put in a 1m39.614s.

David made his own gains at the start of the final hour, breaking into the 1m38s while team-mate Zane Maloney rose up to second place.

With 10 minutes to go another tenth had been chopped off David’s benchmark, which now stood at a 1m38.711s, and Maloney and Saucy had also improved significantly in second and third.

David ended the morning session with a 0.472-second advantage over Maloney, with Aron jumping back up to third ahead of Saucy and MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto.

The afternoon was also interrupted by red flag stoppages, the first caused by Eduardo Barrichello, and it was his JD Motorsport team-mate Tommy Smith who was fastest at the time.

Saucy then took over to the top, although David and Maloney came on track soon after him and went one-two for 10 minutes before Saucy responsed with his first sub-1m39s lap of the day.

Aron had made it up to second place by the time of the second red flag, caused by KIC Motorsport returnee Patrik Pasma getting beached in the gravel at the second corner, and Saucy had improved to a 1m38.763s.

An hour later and there was another gravel-related red flag, this time after FA Racing’s Alexandre Bardinon binned it at Turn 10, and it wasn’t until the final half-hour that David returned to the top with a 1m38.523s.

That lap stood as the best for the rest of the day, with the faster drivers spending much of the remaining time in the pits.

The top four, which consisted of three R-ace drivers after Isack Hadjar bounced back from being 21st fastest in the morning, was covered by just 0.043s and Saucy was a tiny 0.003s from matching David.

The only unsigned driver at the test was MP’s Kas Haverkort, although he is heavily linked to racing for the team.

Bardinon, Lena Buhler (R-ace) and Nico Gohler (KIC) were the only drivers whose best laps were set in the morning, with Buhler not going out on track at all in the afternoon.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m38.523s 72
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m38.526s +0.003s 67
3 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m38.561s +0.038s 71
4 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m38.566s +0.043s 55
5 William Alatalo Arden 1m38.728s +0.205s 58
6 Alex Quinn Arden 1m38.778s +0.255s 57
7 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m38.821s +0.298s 62
8 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m38.832s +0.309s 52
9 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m38.852s +0.329s 68
10 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m38.889s +0.366s 64
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m38.900s +0.377s 69
12 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m38.909s +0.386s 69
13 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix 1m38.964s +0.441s 66
14 David Vidales Prema 1m38.969s +0.446s 73
15 Paul Aron Prema 1m39.026s +0.503s 63
16 Gabriel Bortoleto DR Formula 1m39.074s +0.551s 78
17 Andrea Rosso FA Racing 1m39.105s +0.582s 77
18 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m39.261s +0.738s 51
19 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m39.311s +0.788s 77
20 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m39.319s +0.796s 70
21 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m39.591s +1.068s 62
22 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m39.604s +1.081s 63
23 Brad Benavides DR Formula 1m39.657s +1.134s 61
24 Mari Boya FA Racing 1m39.753s +1.230s 75
25 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m39.794s +1.271s 60
26 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m40.044s +1.521s 77
27 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m40.112s +1.589s 65
29 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing 1m40.163s +1.640s 74
28 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing 1m40.172s +1.649s 59
30 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m40.216s +1.693s 78
31 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m41.486s +2.963s 30
32 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m41.699s +3.176s 48