Home Formula 3GB3 Grundtvig takes lights-to-flag win in final GB3 race at Snetterton

Grundtvig takes lights-to-flag win in final GB3 race at Snetterton

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsports’ Mikkel Grundtvig scored his fourth reversed-grid GB3 victory in the final race at Snetterton.

Grundtvig led away from pole, while an overheating clutch caused Cian Shields to make a slow getaway from the outside of the front-row, the Hitech GP driver dropping to the back of the field before crawling back to the pits and retiring.

The safety car was deployed for the first time of the weekend after Chris Dittmann Racing’s Branden Lee Oxley outbraked himself and spun on the opening lap at Wilsons and retired. 

Zak Taylor applied pressure on his Fortec team-mate Grundtvig for the lead when the race resumed on lap three, but lost time two laps later and slipped back to seventh.

Douglas Motorsport’s Marcos Flack was promoted to second, 0.5s behind Grundtvig, and closed to within 0.2s by lap nine, with Elite Motorsport’s James Hedley following close behind.

Hedley went for a move on Flack at Wilsons, with Flack remaining in front, which relieved the pressure on Grundtvig, who took the win by 0.253s.

Flack held on to second by 0.5s ahead of Hedley, the pair both scoring their first GB3 podiums.

Tommy Smith was fourth for Douglas ahead of CDR’s McKenzy Cresswell, who scored his best result since the opening race of the season.

Bryce Aron was sixth for Hitech GP ahead of Taylor and Douglas driver Max Esterson, who ended a difficult weekend with eighth yet rose to fourth in the championship standings with his result.

David Morales was ninth for Arden ahead of race two podium finisher Javier Sagrera.

Matthew Rees climbed from 19th to 13th for JHR Developments ahead of Roberto Faria, who slipped back after an early battle with Carlin team-mate Sagrera but did set fastest lap.

As in race two, Luke Browning beat title rival Joel Granfors, the pair finishing 15th and 16th. Race one winner Callum Voisin (Carlin) finished 18th from the back of the 22-car grid.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports 20m58.789s
2 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport +0.253s
3 James Hedley Elite Motorsport +0.786s
4 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +1.753s
5 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing +1.997s
6 Bryce Aron Hitech GP +3.161s
7 Zak Taylor Fortec Motorsports +4.335s
8 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport +5.883s
9 David Morales Arden +6.046s
10 Javier Sagrera Carlin +6.416s
11 Nico Christodoulou Arden +7.042s
12 Alex Connor Arden +7.902s
13 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +8.779s
14 Roberto Faria Carlin +9.901s
15 Luke Browning Hitech GP +10.597s
16 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports +10.948s
17 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +11.596s
18 Callum Voisin Carlin +11.880s
19 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed +12.199s
20 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +12.885s
Ret Cian Shields Hitech GP
Ret Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing
Fastest lap: Faria, 1m43.301s

Championship standings
Browning 237   2 Granfors 226   3 Faria 185   4 Esterson 179   5 Voisin 171   6 Lebbon 165   7 Rees 149   8 Bennett 138   9 Connor 135   10 Cresswell 129