Home News Grist takes second consecutive Pro Mazda pole at Iowa

Grist takes second consecutive Pro Mazda pole at Iowa

by Gruz David
Photo: Andersen Promotions

Photo: Andersen Promotions

One round after grabbing his first pole position of the season, Garrett Grist doubled up, posting the fastest time in the Pro Mazda qualifying at Iowa.

Grist was the eighth driver to leave the pits and edged former leader Weiron Tan by just three thousandths of a second.

The Malaysian, who won the season’s previous oval race at Lucas Oil Raceway, had to settle for a front row start, although his second lap stood as the best of the session.

Championship leader Santiago Urrutia?of Team Pelfrey was not far behind, himself followed by Jose Gutierrez.

Will Owen qualified fifth and could be one to watch, having finished as runner-up at Lucas Oil, while Timothe Buret and Dalton Kellett ended up sixth and seventh respectively.

USF2000 Florian Latorre took eighth, while Patricio O’Ward and current points runner-up Neil Alberico completed the top ten.

Qualifying results
Pos. Driver Team Lap 1 Lap 2 Time
1 Garett Grist Juncos Racing 22.5619 22.5798 45.1417
2 Weiron Tan Andretti Autosport 22.6229 22.5211 45.1440
3 Santiago Urrutia Team Pelfrey 22.5851 22.5784 45.1635
4 Jose Gutierrez Juncos Racing 22.6458 22.5840 45.2298
5 Will Owen Juncos Racing 22.6619 22.6181 45.2800
6 Timothe Buret Juncos Racing 22.6391 22.6855 45.3246
7 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 22.7211 22.7182 45.4393
8 Florian Latorre Cape Motorsports w/WTR 22.8616 22.7626 45.6242
9 Patricio O’Ward Team Pelfrey 22.8251 22.8509 45.6760
10 Neil Alberico Cape Motorsports w/WTR 22.9977 22.9337 45.9314
11 Daniel Burkett Cape Motorsports w/WTR 23.0058 22.9914 45.9972
12 Alessandro Latif World Speed Motorsports 23.0887 23.0949 46.1836
13 Raoul Owens Team Pelfrey 23.3685 23.1267 46.4952