Home Formula 3GB3 Granfors boosts GB3 title hopes with dominant Silverstone win

Granfors boosts GB3 title hopes with dominant Silverstone win

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsports’ Joel Granfors scored his second GB3 victory in the opening contest at Silverstone to close within 6.5 points of championship leader Luke Browning.

Granfors came out on top in battle with polesitter Callum Voisin into Maggotts to snatch the lead, with Voisin also losing out to Carlin team-mate Javier Sagrera on the opening lap.

Voisin spent several laps stuck behind Sagrera, as Granfors built almost a three-second lead.

On lap six of 10, Voisin made a move stick into Brooklands before closing the deficit to Granfors to 1.1s by the finish.

Carlin’s Roberto Faria passed Elite Motorsport’s John Bennett for fourth into Brooklands at the halfway stage, and then closed in on Sagrera.

Faria moved around the outside of his team-mate at Luffield in the closing stages before taking third at Copse. But his podium finish may be in doubt having ran off track while completing the move.

Bennett came home fifth, with Elite’s Tom Lebbon and Arden’s Nico Christodoulou following close behind.

Matthew Rees was eighth for JHR Developments ahead of Douglas Motorsport’s Max Esterson, who held off a late charge from Hitech GP’s Browning to finish ninth.

Having been excluded from qualifying for a technical infringement, Browning stormed from the back of the field to 11th on the opening lap, and gained a further place by passing Chris Dittmann Racing’s McKenzy Cresswell. 

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 19m05.651s
2 Callum Voisin Carlin +1.116s
3 Roberto Faria Carlin +6.752s
4 Javier Sagrera Carlin +7.307s
5 John Bennett Elite Motorsport +7.982s
6 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +8.323s
7 Nico Christodoulou Arden +8.646s
8 Matthew Rees JHR Developments +9.082s
9 Max Esterson Douglas Motorsport +9.875s
10 Luke Browning Hitech GP +10.223s
11 McKenzy Cresswell Chris Dittmann Racing +10.882s
12 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +13.344s
13 Alex Connor Arden +15.475s
14 Nick Gilkes Hillspeed +16.054s
15 James Hedley JHR Developments +16.660s
16 Bryce Aron Hitech GP +17.039s
17 Cian Shields Hitech GP +18.794s
18 David Morales Arden +20.984s
19 Zak Taylor Arden +23.379s
20 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +24.007s
21 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +24.744s
22 Marcos Flack Douglas Motorsport +25.647s
23 Ayrton Ori Chris Dittmann Racing +28.456s
Fastest lap: Voisin, 1m53.635s

Championship standings
Browning 322   2 Granfors 315.5   3 Esterson 244.5   4 Voisin 235   5 Faria 227.5   6 Lebbon 201.5   7 Bennett 182.5   8 Rees 179.5   9 Sagrera 167.5   10 Cresswell 166