Home Formula 4British F4 Gowda takes lights-to-flag British F4 Snetterton win

Gowda takes lights-to-flag British F4 Snetterton win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Dion Gowda took a lights-to-flag victory in the final race of the British Formula 4 round at Snetterton. 

In a calmer race to end the weekend, Gowda resisted pressure from Kenato Le to take his second win of the year and close in to within six points of Louis Sharp at the top of the championship standings. 

Gowda got a good start from pole with Le close behind. Further back, there was drama as Gabriel Stilp stalled off the line after lining up fourth on the grid. The field managed to avoid the stationary Hitech car and Stilp got going as the last of the cars passed him.  

The incident meant Will Macintyre was able to jump up to fourth and was challenging Sharp for third when the safety car was brought out. 

Josh Irfan came to a stop on track with a puncture, prompting the safety car, but the incident was quickly cleared. 

Macintyre resumed his fight against Sharp on the restart, but the championship leader was able to shake him off. The top three then broke away slightly, with Gowda soaking up the pressure from Le and Sharp. 

The top three held position for the remainder of the race. In the final laps, Gowda and Le were able to break away from Sharp. Gowda didn’t put a wheel wrong, leaving Le no opportunity to overtake and securing his second win of the season. 

Sharp finished third ahead of Macintyre, who had a comfortable gap back to the battling James Piszcyk and Aiden Neate. 

Deagan Fairclough, who qualified sixth but earned two five place penalties from race two, charged up through the order. He managed to pick his way up to ninth by the safety car period, then passed James Higgins to move up to eighth.

The JHR Developments driver was putting pressure on Sonny Smith in the final laps but couldn’t find a way through and had to settle for eighth. Higgins took ninth place ahead of race two winner Aqil Alibhai. 

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dion Gowda Carlin 20m07.106s
2 Kanato Le Hitech GP +0.621s
3 Louis Sharp Carlin +1.535s
4 William Macintyre Hitech GP +2.437s
5 James Piszcyk Hitech GP +4.681s
6 Aiden Neate Fortec Motorsports +5.143s
7 Sonny Smith JHR Developments +5.755s
8 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments +7.379s
9 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports +9.301s
10 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing +10.145s
11 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +10.756s
12 Daniel Guinchard Chris Dittmann Racing +11.804s
13 Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport +12.370s
14 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP +12.967s
15 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing +13.306s
16 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing +17.837s
17 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing +22.081s
18 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport +22.378s
19 Matteo De Palo Argenti Motorsport +44.762s
20 Noah Lisle Carlin +53.383s
Ret Josh Irfan Chris Dittmann Racing
Fastest lap: Lisle, 1m48.072s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 97   2 Gowda 86   3 Macintyre 73   4 Higgins 71   5 Le 66   6 Lisle 65   7 Fairclough 59   8 Guinchard 52   9 Neate 48   10 Alibhai 47