Home News Gold and Nepveu top Road to Indy testing at Barber

Gold and Nepveu top Road to Indy testing at Barber

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography / Road to Indy

The Road to Indy held its first official in-season test of the year at Barber Motorsports Park on Monday and Tuesday this week

Indy Pro 2000 had five sessions at the circuit over the two days, and 16 cars turned up. Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Enaam Ahmed kicked off the action by pipping team-mate Reece Gold to top spot by 0.017 seconds, with Jay Howard Driver Developments’ Braden Eves also within a tenth of the pace while Jonathan Browne and Charles Finelli set no laps.

Pabst Racing’s Colin Kaminsky was the pacesetter on Monday afternoon, heading Eves by 0.113s, Gold by 0.149s and JHDD’s Wyatt Brichacek by 0.179s. FatBoy Racing’s Finelli, last seen in IP2000 in 2020, again failed to get out on track and Ahmed was only able to set an installation lap.

The pace was quicker at the start of Tuesday, although not for Ahmed and Eves, and Gold went fastest with a 1m17.539s lap. Brichacek was next best, 0.245s slower. Gold topped the times again in session two of the day, setting a 1m17.859s to go 0.186s faster than Eves, while in the final session only seven drivers went out and it was Exclusive Autosport’s Louis Foster who was fastest with a 1m18.448s. He headed Ahmed by 0.060s and Gold by 0.136s. All of the JHDD, Pabst and Turn 3 Motorsport drivers stayed in the pits throughout.

USF2000 ran four sessions in one day, and Legacy Autosport’s Simon Sikes was first to the top with a 0.154s margin to Cape Motorsports’ Jagger Jones in a session which four drivers skipped.

One of the absentees was Exclusive’s Billy Frazer, who was then fastest in session two. He set a 1m22.316s, with DEForce Racing’s Thomas Nepveu 0.052s behind in second place.

Pabst lowered the pace in session three, with Myles Rowe heading team-mate Jace Denmark by a small 0.080s after posting a 1m22.122s lap. Four drivers skipped running again.

The day ended with Nepveu going to the top overall, his 1m22.114s lap just 0.007s faster than team-mate Bijoy Garg’s best. Exclusive ran its F1600 Championship Series racer¬† Joey Brienza II in one session.

Test results

Indy Pro 2000
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m17.539s 80
2 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD 1m17.784s +0.245s 65
3 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m17.807s +0.268s 51
4 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m17.824s +0.285s 67
5 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m17.873s +0.334s 93
6 Braden Eves JHDD 1m17.904s +0.365s 64
7 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 1m17.906s +0.367s 80
8 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m17.935s +0.396s 82
9 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m17.992s +0.453s 90
10 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m18.101s +0.562s 74
1 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing 1m22.114s 48
2 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m22.121s +0.007s 44
3 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m22.122s +0.008s 59
4 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m22.202s +0.088s 70
5 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m22.316s +0.202s 61
6 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport 1m22.345s +0.231s 55
7 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m22.499s +0.385s 77
8 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m22.505s +0.391s 80
9 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing 1m22.529s +0.415s 46
10 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m22.635s +0.521s 66