Home Formula 4Italian F4 Giorgio Carrara takes first Italian F4 win in final Red Bull Ring race

Giorgio Carrara takes first Italian F4 win in final Red Bull Ring race

by Josh Suttill

Photo: ACI Sport

Jenzer Motorsport’s Giorgio Carrara took his maiden Italian Formula 4 victory in the third race at the Red Bull Ring.

Carrara, who made a cameo appearance in FIA Formula 3 at the circuit two weeks ago, jumped polesitting Sauber junior Roman Stanek on the run to Turn 1 on the opening lap.

He held the lead through to the chequered flag, despite consistent pressure from Red Bull junior Dennis Hauger, who rose from fifth on the grid to finish just three tenths off victory.

Mercedes junior Paul Aron started and finished in third, bringing him up to third in the standings. He didn’t have the pace to match top two but fended off a late advance from Prema team-mate?Gianluca Petecof, whose lead over Hauger has been cut to four points.

Ferrari Driver Academy star Petecof came from eighth on the grid to finish in fourth, beating US Racing’s Stanek.

William Alatalo made it a trio of points finishes at the Red Bull Ring with sixth, ahead of Prema’s?Alessandro Famularo, and his own Mucke Motorsport team-mate Joshua Durksen. Rounding out the top 10 was R-ace GP’s Gregoire Saucy and SMP Racing junior?Mikhael Belov.


Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport 32m59.731s
2 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing +0.386s
3 Paul Aron Prema +1.319s
4 Gianluca Petecof Prema +2.730s
5 Roman Stanek US Racing +3.250s
6 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +10.716s
7 Alessandro Famularo Prema +11.465s
8 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +11.722s
9 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +15.098s
10 Mikhael Belov Bhaitech +15.311s
11 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +15.924s
12 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +20.971s
13 Axel Gnos Jenzer Motorsport +21.701s
14 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +21.851s
15 Umberto Laganella Bhaitech +23.971s
16 Jesse Salmenautio DRZ Benelli +30.942s
17 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +30.988s
18 Filipe Ugran BVM Racing +34.346s
19 Lazslo Toth R-ace GP +39.034s
20 Sebatian Freymuth AS Motorsport +39.478s
21 Ivan Berets DRZ Benelli +40.181s
22 Roee Meyuhas Cram Motorsport +40.338s
23 Amna Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +40.672s
24 Nico Gohler Mucke Motorsport +40.941s
25 Emidio Pesce Jenzer Motorsport +43.186s
26 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +1m01.169s
27 Niklas Krutten Van Amersfoort Racing +1m01.432s
28 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +1m06.055s
29 Erwin Zanotti Mucke Motorsport +1m29.327s
30 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
Ret Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport
Ret Nicola Maringangeli Bhaitech
Fastest lap: Petecof, 1m30.963s

Championship standings
?Petecof 169? ?2 Hauger 165? ?3?Aron 92? ?4?Durksen 87? ?5?Krutten 78? ?6?Alatalo 74? ?7?Cohen 69? ?8?Belov 66? ?9?Rasmussen 52? ?10?Stanek 48