Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Gasly switches to Tech 1 for second year in the Eurocup

Gasly switches to Tech 1 for second year in the Eurocup

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

French youngster Pierre Gasly will race for Tech 1 Racing in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 in 2013 according to the French federation, the FFSA.

Gasly, who is one of our 13 drivers to watch in 2013, made his debut in single-seaters in French F4 back in 2011. With two poles and four wins, he finished third in the championship behind Matthieu Vaxiviere and Andrea Pizzitola.

In 2012, Gasly joined R-ace GP in the Eurocup, earning pole position at Spa in his rookie year. That and two podium finishes stood out in his campaign, by the end of which he stood in tenth in the standings. Contesting a part-time campaign in Formula Renault 2.0 NEC, he also recorded a podium finish in that series.

Part of the FFSA’s ‘Equipe de France’ national team programme, Gasly’s said “the objective is the title, quite clearly.”

Gasly was observed by Red Bull Junior Team bosses during the 2012 season but there has been no suggestion yet that he will be taken into the scheme on a formal basis for the coming season.

In 2012, Tech 1 Racing finished fourth in the Eurocup standings, employing four drivers on a full-time basis – Vaxiviere, Paul-Loup Chatin, Oscar Tunjo and Roman Mavlanov. Chatin and Tunjo were the highest-placed drivers in the team at the end of 2012, taking sixth and seventh respectively in the standings. Tunjo also recorded the only Eurocup victory for the team, as Chatin and part-timer Felipe Fraga delivered additional podiums.