Home Featured Gabriel Bortoleto tops track limit-dominated F2 qualifying at Imola

Gabriel Bortoleto tops track limit-dominated F2 qualifying at Imola

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Invicta Racing’s Gabriel Bortoleto claimed Formula 2 pole position at Imola, his second in four rounds.

Campos Racing’s Isack Hadjar will line-up alongside the McLaren junior in Sunday’s feature race, with AIX Racing’s Joshua Duerksen in third after both Prema drivers had their laptimes deleted.

Bortoleto and Rodin Motorsport’s Maloney exchanged first place on the first set of tyres. The McLaren junior improved on his second flying lap to set a benchmark of 1m27.739s. Meanwhile, the Sauber junior could not lower his laptime, staying 0.271 seconds off.

Behind them, Hadjar headed both AIX Racing drivers, who enjoyed a very strong first run.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto went off at Acque Minerali, but managed to stop before hitting the barrier and rejoined. ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins also had issues approaching the Variante Alta and cut the chicane as a consequence.

Trident’s Roman Stanek went momentarily fastest as drivers headed out on a fresh set of the super-soft compound. Local star Andrea Kimi Antonelli soon beat him to the top spot, although it was his Prema teammate Ollie Bearman who was on top once everyone had crossed the finish line. Meanwhile, Hadjar slotted in-between them.

Few drivers improved on their second laps, but Bortoleto did so again pipping Bearman by half-a-tenth of a second. The Ferrari junior then had his laptime deleted, dropping him to 16th place.

Antonelli was also punished for exceeding track limits, dropping from fourth to 18th place. The Mercedes junior had already had his best laptime on the first set of tyres deleted.

Hadjar and Duerksen benefited from the most from it as they moved up to second and third respectively. Championship leader Maloney and Stanek rounded off the top five, while Colapinto is set to start the sprint race from first place.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta Racing 1m27.056s 13
2 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m27.272s +0.216s 12
3 Joshua Duerksen AIX Racing 1m27.384s +0.328s 12
4 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m27.428s +0.372s 14
5 Roman Stanek Trident 1m27.467s +0.411s 11
6 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.739s +0.683s 13
7 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m27.395s +0.339s 12
8 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.802s +0.746s 12
9 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m27.886s +0.830s 11
10 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m27.954s +0.898s 12
11 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m28.011s +0.955s 12
12 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m28.050s +0.994s 14
13 Kush Maini Invicta Racing 1m28.061s +1.005s 11
14 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m28.128s +1.072s 13
15 Taylor Barnard AIX Racing 1m28.169s +1.113s 12
16 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m28.218s +1.162s 12
17 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m28.407s +1.351s 12
18 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m28.542s +1.486s 13
19 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m28.569s +1.513s 7
20 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.960s +1.904s 13
21 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m31.631s +4.575s 13
22 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m41.099s +14.043s 8