Home Featured Bearman and Antonelli get laps reinstated after Imola F2 qualifying

Bearman and Antonelli get laps reinstated after Imola F2 qualifying

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Prema pair Ollie Bearman and Andrea Kimi Antonelli were among those to get deleted laps reinstated after Formula 2 qualifying at Imola, putting them second and fourth on the grid.

Among a flurry of lap-time deletions at the end of qualifying, Ferrari junior Bearman was demoted to 16th in the provisional results and Mercedes protege Antonelli to 18th, where they would have started both races.

However, around two hours later their best laps were removed from the list of those that had been deleted, moving them back to the front two rows for the feature race, Bearman alongside pole-sitter Gabriel Bortoleto and Antonelli next to third-placed Isack Hadjar.

“I wasn’t looking forward to starting from the back rows for another weekend because so far in F2 [this year] I’ve only started at the back,” Bearman later told media including Formula Scout in the press conference. “So it was looking like a long weekend and then gladly the lap got reinstated.

“It’s a bit of a shock really [to get laps deleted] because where we’re sitting we cannot see the difference between being on the right line and being two millimetres over. And in a track like this, if you are two millimetres over… it feels like if you do track limits you’re in the gravel and of course that’s not an advantage.

“So I find it a bit strange how we have so many track limits deletions with such fine margins when we have gravel stopping us, it doesn’t make sense to me.”

Others to get laps reinstated included Paul Aron, Franco Colapinto and Amaury Cordeel, moving them back up to eighth, ninth and 10th respectively.

Amended qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Gabriel Bortoleto Invicta Racing 1m27.056s 13
2 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m27.111s* +0.055s 12
3 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m27.272s +0.216s 12
4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m27.320s* +0.264s 13
5 Joshua Duerksen AIX Racing 1m27.384s +0.328s 12
6 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m27.428s +0.372s 14
7 Roman Stanek Trident 1m27.467s +0.411s 11
8 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m27.475s* +0.419s 12
9 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m27.614s* +0.558s 12
10 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m28.663s* +0.607s 12
11 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.739s +0.683s 13
12 Taylor Barnard AIX Racing 1m27.774s* +0.718s 12
13 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m27.795s +0.739s 12
14 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m27.802s +0.746s 12
15 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m27.886s +0.830s 11
16 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m28.050s +0.994s 14
17 Kush Maini Invicta Racing 1m28.061s +1.005s 11
18 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m28.128s +1.072s 13
19 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.131s* +1.075s 13
20 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m28.192s* +1.136s 13
21 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m28.333s* +1.277s 8
22 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m28.569s +1.513s 7

* lap time reinstated after previously being deleted