Home Featured Santiago Ramos claims Imola F3 pole in Trident top-three lock-out

Santiago Ramos claims Imola F3 pole in Trident top-three lock-out

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Santiago Ramos claimed his first ever car racing pole position in outstanding FIA Formula 3 qualifying session for Trident at Imola.

The Italian outfit locked out the top three positions as local star Leonardo Fornaroli was second, followed by Sami Meguetounif in third place.

MP Motorsport’s Tim Tramnitz and Alex Dunne were the first drivers to set a competitive laptime. However, they were quickly bettered by Fornaroli setting a benchmark of 1m32.694s while Red Bull junior Tramnitz had his lap deleted.

Prema’s Gabriele Mini was next to top the charts by 0.096 seconds. Meanwhile, ART Grand Prix’s Laurens Van Hoepen slotted into third, followed by Mini’s teammate Dino Beganovic and Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe.

The red flag came out 10 minutes into the session and before anyone had set a second flying lap, after Rodin Motorsport’s Callum Voisin lost the control of his car at the Tamburello chicane and beached his car into the gravel trap.

Hitech GP’s Luke Browning, who was yet to set a representative laptime, rose to fourth place as the session resumed. Then Goethe improved to go fastest.

Trident and MP started their runs later, and therefore stayed out when the rest returned to the pit-lane. Their strategy paid dividends and Fornaroli set the fastest time followed by Dunne 0.141 seconds. Meguetounif and Tramnitz were fourth and sixth respectively after that last lap on the first set of tyres.

Drivers coming out on a fresh set of tyres meant lots of green sectors in the timing sheet. Prema’s Arvid Lindblad claimed the top spot followed by Beganovic. However, Fornaroli regained it as he headed out, but he was beaten by his teammate Ramos.

A late lap upped Goethe to eighth place, but it was then deleted meaning he was 13th fastest in the final classification.

MP’s Kacper Sztuka was 12th fastest and will start the sprint race from reversed-grid pole, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon alongside him.

Voisin and ART Grand Prix’s Nikola Tsolov will each serve a three-place grid penalty in the sprint race after failing to stay above the minimum ECU time when free practice was red-flagged.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m31.767s 11
2 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.820s +0.053s 11
3 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m32.019s +0.252s 11
4 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m32.109s +0.342s 11
5 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m32.121s +0.354s 13
6 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m32.156s +0.389s 12
7 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m32.178s +0.411s 12
8 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m32.422s +0.655s 12
9 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m32.429s +0.662s 12
10 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m32.499s +0.732s 13
11 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.513s +0.746s 12
12 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m32.515s +0.748s 13
13 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m32.517s +0.750s 11
14 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing 1m32.677s +0.874s 11
15 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m32.709s +0.942s 12
16 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m32.787s +1.020s 12
17 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.838s +1.071s 11
18 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m32.869s +1.102s 11
19 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.951s +1.184s 12
20 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m33.005s +1.238s 4
21 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.046s +1.279s 12
22 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m33.069s +1.302s 12
23 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.085s +1.318s 12
24 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m33.135s +1.338s 11
25 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m33.135s +1.368s 12
26 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.136s +1.369s 11
27 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m33.217s +1.450s 12
28 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m33.237s +1.470s 11
29 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing 1m33.436s +1.474s 11
30 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing 1m33.551s +1.669s 12