Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Frost tops Indy Lights practice at Indianapolis

Frost tops Indy Lights practice at Indianapolis

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Andretti Autosport’s Danial Frost was quickest in Indy Lights practice on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course, with the whole field split by less than a second.

While practice came to a single session, teams and drivers did take part in a pre-event test earlier on Thursday. It marked the first official running at the famous ‘Brickyard’ for the championship since the 2019 Freedom 100.

Drivers opted to stick with their used tyres from the previous round at St. Petersburg, rather than dip into their allocation of new rubber for the weekend, with two ideal qualifying laps required from tomorrow’s session.

Juncos Racing’s Toby Sowery was the early pacesetter in the 45-minute session before Frost came to the fore about 15 minutes in with his fastest time of 1m16.2234s.

As the session continued (and without any interruption), laptimes rarely improved through the field, leaving Frost out front ahead of Sowery by 0.0579 seconds. Sowery completed less than half of the number of laps of anybody else.

Global Racing Group with HMD Motorsports’ Linus Lundqvist, who topped the test, ended up third quickest, ahead of Andretti’s Kyle Kirkwood.

Robert Megennis edged HMD’s David Malukas for fifth; the points leader did improve late on, while Andretti Steinbrenner’s Devlin DeFrancesco ended up seventh.

Juncos Racing’s Sting Ray Robb, Carlin with Jay Howard Driver Development’s Alex Peroni and Pserra Racing’s Antonio Serravalle rounded out the top 10. Peroni’s Carlin team-mate Christian Bogle had a busy session, completing far more laps than anybody else.

Free practice results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Danial Frost Andretti Autosport 1m15.9347s 24
2 Toby Sowery Juncos Racing 1m15.9926s +0.0579s 7
3 Linus Lundqvist Global Racing Group w/ HMD 1m16.0642s +0.1295s 21
4 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport 1m16.1572s +0.2225s 22
5 Robert Megennis Andretti Autosport 1m16.1644s +0.2297s 24
6 David Malukas HMD Motorsports 1m16.2048s +0.2701s 21
7 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport 1m16.2087s +0.2740s 23
8 Sting Ray Robb Juncos Racing 1m16.2105s +0.2758s 22
9 Alex Peroni Carlin w/ JHDD 1m16.2153s +0.2806s 24
10 Antonio Serravalle Pserra Racing 1m16.3017s +0.3670s 24
11 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group w/ HMD 1m16.5055s +0.5708s 24
12 Nikita Lastochkin HMD Motorsports 1m16.7289s +0.7942s 24
13 Christian Bogle Carlin w/ JHDD 1m16.8844s +0.9497s 31