Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Frost fastest on Indy Lights’ post-season test day

Frost fastest on Indy Lights’ post-season test day

by Ida Wood

Photo: Penske Entertainment / James Black

HMD Motorsport’s Danial Frost was fastest in both sessions of Indy Lights’ post-season test day on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course on Friday.

In the morning Frost led a HMD 1-2-3 ahead of Kyffin Simpson and Christian Rasmussen, and he set the pace by 0.2332 seconds. Hunter McElrea was the top Andretti Autosport driver in fourth place.

The pace was slightly slower in the afternoon, with Frost lapping 0.0256s slower than the 1m16.2526s benchmark he set in the morning, and this time he was 0.0975s faster than McElrea.

Three HMD drivers filled the next three places, with Ernie Francis Jr (whose entry is supported by Force Indy) in third place. Nolan Siegel was the top Indy Lights newcomer (although he did do the 2022 season finale) in fourth.

Further down the order were several new names to the series, and drivers who are yet to sign deals to race in Indy Lights next year.

Running with Abel Motorsports, who recieve technical support from TJ Speed boss Tim Neff, were Jack William Miller – who came ninth in USF Pro 2000 this year – and USF2000 rookie Nicky Hays.

Juncos Hollinger Racing ran a car for its USFP2000 runner-up Reece Gold, and Andretti’s line-up also included James Roe Jr and Jamie Chadwic.

Roe has recently been racing in International GT Open, and had said he was looking at a future in sportscars, while three-time W Series champion Chadwick has tested privately with Andretti and was the only driver to crash during the Indianapolis test.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 1m16.2526s
2 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1m16.3769s +0.1243s
3 Ernie Francis Jr HMD w/ Force Indy 1m16.4489s +0.1963s
4 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports 1m16.4852s +0.2326s
5 Kyffin Simpson HMD Motorsports 1m16.4858s +0.2332s
6 Christian Rasmussen HMD Motorsports 1m16.5096s +0.257s
7 Josh Green HMD Motorsports 1m16.5212s +0.2686s
8 Louis Foster Andretti Autosport 1m16.6003s +0.3477s
9 Rasmus Lindh HMD Motorsports 1m16.7522s +0.4996s
10 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m16.7831s +0.5305s
11 Jack William Miller Abel Motorsports 1m16.7978s +0.5452s
12 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m16.8398s +0.5872s
13 James Roe Jr Andretti Autosport 1m16.8996s +0.6470s
14 Nicky Hays Abel Motorsports 1m17.1856s +0.9330s
15 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports 1m17.1993s +0.9467s
16 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Autosport 1m17.6358s +1.3832s