Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Frost fastest again in Indy Lights Barber practice

Frost fastest again in Indy Lights Barber practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: IndyCar / Matt Fraver

HMD Motorsports’ Danial Frost was fastest in Indy Lights’ second free practice session at Barber Motorsports Park, moving to the top with a late lap.

The HMD team seemed strongest around the circuit, although Andretti Autosport’s Christian Rasmussen was on top through the first quarter of the half-hour session, and for a long time it was Linus Lundqvist who sat in first place.

He set a 1m12.7221s lap to demote Rasmussen from the top, quickly improved to 1m12.4117s and then backed off before going into the pits to make some set-up adjustments prior to his second run.

Rasmussen found a small gain to stay in second until the end of the first runs, when Frost joined Lundqvist in 1m12.4s territory.

Most drivers focused on making changes to the front of the car in between their runs, with Rasmussen even breaking his second run into two pretty sharply to make an adjustment to the rear of the car too before setting any more laps.

The pace was slower than before as drivers found where handling was at its best and worse around the undulating course, but a very strong lap from Frost with a minute to go put him past Lundqvist by a tiny 0.0383 seconds.

After the chequered flag his team-mate Benjamin Pedersen, who is co-run by Global Racing Group, also improved and he went just 0.0267s slower than Frost in second place.

Andretti driver Sting Ray Robb was another to find a little more pace once on low fuel, and he rounded out a top four covered by less than a tenth of a second.

Frost explained afterwards that he had changed the tyre pressures between his runs but done little other set-up work while in the pitlane, and said his session-topping time was “more about me perfecting the lap than anything, really”.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 1m12.3734s 17
2 Benjamin Pedersen Global Racing Group w/ HMD 1m12.4001s +0.0267s 17
3 Linus Lundqvist HMD Motorsports 1m12.4117s +0.0383s 18
4 Sting Ray Robb Andretti Autosport 1m12.4659s +0.0925s 19
5 Christian Rasmussen Andretti Autosport 1m12.5533s +0.1799s 18
6 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1m12.6447s +0.2713s 18
7 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m12.9909s +0.6175s 19
8 Matthew Brabham Andretti Autosport 1m13.0388s +0.6654s 18
9 Kyffin Simpson TJ Speed 1m13.0987s +0.7253s 15
10 Manuel Sulaiman HMD Motorsports 1m13.1442s +0.7708s 14
11 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m13.2841s +0.9107s 15
12 Ernie Francis Jr Force INdy 1m13.5616s +1.1882s 14
13 James Roe Jr TJ Speed 1m13.7128s +1.3394s 15
14 Antonio Serravalle Abel Motorsports 1m13.8461s +1.4727s 20