Home News Christian Weir claims pole for USF2000 race two at Barber

Christian Weir claims pole for USF2000 race two at Barber

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Christian Weir claimed his first USF2000 pole aged just 15 in qualifying for race two at Barber Motorsports Park.

The Turn 3 Motorsport driver sat outside of the top 10 for most of Q2, but posted a 1m22.3788s lap good enough for pole with five minutes to go just before red flags were waved as Jay Howard Driver Development’s Danny Dyszelski hit trouble.

In USF2000 the clock is paused during stoppages, meaning there was a chance to improve after the restart. However Dyszelski’s team-mate Yeoroo Lee then had an off at turn seven that stopped the session again before anyone set a lap.

That left under four minutes to play with on the second restart, providing enough time for those who were first out of the pits to set two flying laps.

Cape Motorsports’ Jagger Jones, who was already on the front row, improved to lap just 0.0288 seconds slower than Weir, and Legacy Autosport’s Simon Sikes and Pabst Racing’s race one poleman Myles Rowe jumped up to third and fourth just before the chequered flag fell.

This gave them the opportunity to go around again, but on a track that was gripping up ever more they couldn’t quite match Weir’s earlier benchmark.

Rowe got closest, getting within 0.0113s of the pole time, and Cape’s Michael d’Orlando was also within two tenths of Weir but qualified fifth.

DEForce Racing’s Bijoy Garg was one of the last out of the pits yet he snuck in at the very end to qualify sixth, pushing team-mate Thomas Nepveu down a spot. Nepveu had not improved on the laptime that had put him in first place in the first half of Q2.

Two tenths of a second covered sixth to 10th, with Exclusive Autosport’s early pacesetter Billy Frazer ending up in ninth as he had a messy end to the session.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Christian Weir Turn 3 Motorsport 1m22.3788s 12
2 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 1m22.3901s +0.0113s 13
3 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m22.4076s +0.0288s 12
4 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport 1m22.5496s +0.1708s 12
5 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports 1m22.5647s +0.1859s 11
6 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m22.5849s +0.2061s 12
7 Thomas Nepveu DEForce Racing 1m22.6199s +0.2411s 12
8 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 1m22.6749s +0.2961s 13
9 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport 1m22.6989s +0.3201s 12
10 Jackson Lee Cape Motorsports 1m22.7766s +0.3978s 11
11 Nicky Hays Cape Motorsports 1m22.8505s +0.4717s 11
12 Jacob Douglas Exclusive Autosport 1m23.0006s +0.6218s 12
13 Dylan Christie DEForce Racing 1m23.0600s +0.6812s 11
14 Spike Kohlbecker Turn 3 w/ Ignite Autosport 1m23.1008s +0.7220s 11
15 Viktor Andersson Velocity Racing Development 1m23.2899s +0.9111s 10
16 Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports 1m23.3148s +0.9360s 10
17 Jorge Garciarce JHDD 1m23.4514s +1.0726s 11
18 Danny Dyszelski JHDD 1m23.5489s +1.1701s 10
19 Yeoroo Lee Velocity Racing Development 1m24.6993s +2.3205s 9