Home News Franzoni returns to victory lane in second NOLA race

Franzoni returns to victory lane in second NOLA race

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Andersen Promotions

Photo: Andersen Promotions

Afterburner Autosport’s Victor Franzoni became the third different race winner of the 2015 USF2000 season at NOLA Park.

Franzoni took his fifth win between the regular USF2000 championship and the Winterfest as he prevailed on a wet track.

Poleman Aaron Telitz kept the lead off the line but was soon reeled in by Franzoni, while Jake Eidson and Nico Jamin battled for third place.

Franzoni managed to pass Telitz on lap three and, trying to keep up with the Afterburner driver, the American went off at turn seven, beaching his car and causing a full-course caution.

A lengthy interruption followed, with several cars out of position under the safety car, and the race finally got back under green with less than eight minutes to go.

Jamin passed Eidson soon after the restart and ended up right on Franzoni’s tail, giving the Brazilian no room to breathe until the checkered flag.

But Franzoni held on, taking the top step for his first podium appearance of the season.

For Jamin and Eidson, it was a fourth consecutive podium from the start of the season.

Canadian Parker Thompson fought his way up to a personal best USF2000 finish in fourth, first passing Anthony Martin and then forcing Garth Rickards into a mistake.

Martin took fifth, holding off teammate Jordan Lloyd by a tenth of a second.

Keyvan Andres Soori took seventh, ahead of Rickards, Yufeng Luo and Augie Lerch.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Victor Franzoni Afterburner Autosport 11 laps in 25:11.652
2 Nico Jamin Cape Motorsports w/WTR +1.015
3 Jake Eidson Pabst Racing +6.668
4 Parker Thompson JDC MotorSports +16.968
5 Anthony Martin John Cummiskey Racing +18.542
6 Jordan Lloyd John Cummiskey Racing +18.665
7 Keyvan Andres Soori ArmsUp Motorsports +30.069
8 Garth Rickards Team Pelfrey +31.765
9 Yufeng Luo Pabst Racing +39.323
10 Augie Lerch JAY Motorsports +40.370
11 Ayla Agren Team Pelfrey +43.532
12 Nikita Lastochkin Team Pelfrey +44.162
13 Max Hanratty ArmsUp Motorsports +59.840
14 Luke Gabin Team Pelfrey +1:16.164
15 James Dayson ArmsUp Motorsports +1:31.912
16 Aaron Telitz Cape Motorsports w/WTR +9 laps