Home Formula RegionalFRegional Oceania Igor Fraga on TRS pole at Teretonga in disrupted session

Igor Fraga on TRS pole at Teretonga in disrupted session

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Toyota Racing NZ

M2 Competition?s Igor Fraga will start the first Toyota Racing Series race at Terretonga from pole position after a four-minute scrap for the top spot.

The session was halted very early on for a crash involving Giles Motorsport?s Chelsea Herbert after she spun coming out of the pits on her out lap and hit the tyres hard at an acute angle.

The recovery and replacing of the barriers took more than 20 minutes, reducing the already-delayed session to just four minutes.

From there, Kiwi Motorsport?s Franco Colapinto spent a fair amount of time at the top of the timing sheets ? after benefitting from a clear track in front.

But it was Fraga in the closing seconds who nailed the all-important final lap ? taking pole by just over a tenth from MTEC Motorsport by R-ace GP?s Jackson Walls.

Series leader Liam Lawson will start a lowly 14th, while Caio Collet ? another driver who spent time at the top of the timing sheets ? will start sixth.

Red Bull junior Yuki Tsunoda will also start outside of the top 10 ? starting in the sixth row just in front of Henning Enqvist.

Gregoire Saucy, Oliver Rasmussen and Colapinto round out the top five.

Lirim Zendelli, Ido Cohen, Emilien Denner and Jose Blanco make up the top 10 for Saturday?s first race.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Igor Fraga M2 Competition 54.188s
2 Jackson Walls MTEC by R-ace GP +0.110s
3 Gregoire Saucy Giles Motorsport +0.371s
4 Oliver Rasmussen MTEC by R-ace GP +0.382s
5 Franco Colapinto Kiwi Motorsport +0.453s
6 Caio Collet MTEC by R-ace GP +0.482s
7 Lirim Zendeli Giles Motorsport +0.504s
8 Ido Cohen M2 Competition +0.661s
9 Emilien Denner M2 Competition +0.992s
10 Jose Blanco-Chock Kiwi Motorsport +1.025s
11 Yuki Tsunoda M2 Competition +1.051s
12 Henning Enqvist Giles Motorsport +1.224s
13 Axel Gnos Kiwi Motorsport +1.275s
14 Liam Lawson M2 Competition +1.449s
15 Spike Kohlbecker Kiwi Motorsport +1.558s
16 Rui Andrade M2 Competition +2.223s
17 Petr Ptacek MTEC by R-ace GP +2.813s
18 Lucas Petersson MTEC by R-ace GP +6.430s
19 Chelsea Herbert Giles Motorsport No time