Home Formula 3GB3 Foster takes BRDC F3 win at Donington as Frederick crashes out

Foster takes BRDC F3 win at Donington as Frederick crashes out

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Double R Racing’s Louis Foster took his maiden BRDC British Formula 3 win at Donington Park as polesitter Kaylen Frederick crashed late on.

Rain began to fall lightly at the start of the 20-minute race, and Carlin’s Frederick ran onto the grass on the opening lap after taking the lead at the start.

That allowed Foster through into a lead that he did not relinquish, ahead of Hitech GP duo Reece Ushijima and Kush Maini.

There was a safety car after a couple of laps for Chris Dittmann Racing’s Nico Varrone, who had spun around. The race was restarted with half of the allotted time remaining, and Foster made a good restart.

He was able to pull a small gap late in the race to secure his first win by just over a second from Ushijima, who claimed his first podium. Maini challenged his team-mate, but despite being vastly more experienced was not able to get past.

After his early mistake, Frederick’s race seemed to go from bad to worse. He lost further positions after the restart to drop to sixth and was overtaken by two more cars, the latter occurring on the penultimate lap.

To compound his woes, he crashed at Coppice on the final tour. However, the chequered flag should in fact have come out one lap earlier, and so Frederick was classified in eighth.

Lanan Racing’s Piers Prior was fourth, ahead of Douglas Motorsport’s Kiern Jewiss, CDR’s Josh Skelton, Hillspeed’s Sasakorn Chaimongkol and Frederick.

Ulysse de Pauw is set to start on pole for Sunday’s reversed-grid race, having pitted for a new front wing after sustaining damage late on.

After improving on their personal best laps under a yellow flag during qualifying, Oliver Clarke (Hillspeed), Guilherme Peixoto (Carlin) and Bart Horsten (Lanan) started the race from the back and will do the same for race three.


Race results (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Louis Foster Double R Racing 19m46.018s
2 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +1.424s
3 Kush Maini Hitech GP +1.740s
4 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +2.440s
5 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +3.420s
6 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +4.041s
7 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +7.037s
8 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +7.223s
9 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +7.624s
10 Nazim Azman Carlin +8.824s
11 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +9.115s
12 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +10.610s
13 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +10.754s
14 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed +11.022s
15 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin +11.387s
16 Carter Williams JHR Developments +18.652s
17 Max Marzorati JHR Developments +20.581s
18 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +1m01.685s
Ret Nico Varrone Chris Dittmann Racing
Fastest lap: De Pauw, 1m25.526s

Championship standings
Frederick 100   2 Jewiss 98   3 Azman 89   4 Maini 88   5 Prior 81   6 Foster 80   7 Skelton 77   8 Chaimongkol 71   9 Ushijima 67   10 Clarke 58