Home News Foster holds off Mills to win opening Walter Hayes semi-final

Foster holds off Mills to win opening Walter Hayes semi-final

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

Don Hardman Racing’s Joey Foster triumphed in the first Walter Hayes Trophy semi-final at Silverstone after resisting a late charge from Tom Mills.

Foster lined up on pole but it was Julian van der Watt who edged ahead into Copse at the start for Kevin Mills Racing before Foster regained the lead at Becketts.

Meanwhile Ben Mitchell spun across the track on the exit of Copse before crashing backwards into the wall and Ammonite’s Shawn Rashid went off at Brooklands and fell down the field.

After dropping two places to eighth at the start, KMR’s Mills made up ground to pass Cameron Jackson and Tom McArthur before reeling in van der Watt for second.

He soon made the move at Brooklands, and then set a series of fastest laps to eradicate almost a one second deficit to Foster. Mills had a couple of looks into Luffield late on, but came home 0,182s behind, while Van der Watt claimed third.

Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst and Team USA Scholar Elliott Budzinski climbed up fo fourth and fifth while Jackson was squeezed at Woodcote and lost ground.

But it was Oldfield’s Lucas Romanek that prevailed in a late battle to snatch fourth from Middlehurst, while final lap contact dropped Budzinski to ninth.

According to eye witness reports, Jackson went to pass Budzinski down the inside at Brooklands but locked a wheel and did not get turned in as tightly as planned. As a result, contact was made with Budzinski which sent the Team USA scholar spinning. The pair were summoned to the stewards over the incident.

McArthur finished sixth, ahead of James Penrose, Jackson and Budzinski. Neil Fowler was 10th ahead of Ian Campbell and Last Chance Race winner Felix Fisher. Team Dolan’s Gabe Tesch retired late on after spinning out at Becketts.

Race result (10 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing 11m42.943s
2 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +0.182s
3 Julian Van der Watt Kevin Mills Racing +5.709s
4 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +8.132s
5 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +8.543s
6 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +8.840s
7 James Penrose Border Reivers +9.168s
8 Cameron Jackson Neil Fowler Motorsport +9.632s
9 Elliott Budzinski Ammonite Motorsport +10.643s
10 Neil Fowler Neil Fowler Motorsport +12.476s
11 Ian Campbell +13.309s
12 Felix Fisher TM Racing +15.178s
13 Tom Bradshaw Nigel Grant Motorsport +15.654s
14 Adam Higgins Riadro Motorsport +15.836s
15 Josh Le Roux Kevin Mills Racing +15.976s
16 Sam Street Swift Cooper +17.405s
17 George McDonald +18.061s
18 Callum Grant Nigel Grant Motorsport +18.105s
19 Doug Crosbie +20.949s
20 Adrien Laissac Team Dolan +21.100s
21 Logan Hannah Graham Brunton Racing +23.479s
22 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport +26.299s
23 Richard Higgins Riadro Motorsport +26.926s
24 Tom Hawkins TM Racing +28.655s
25 Nigel Dolan +30.916s
26 Ben Tinkler BT Engineering +31.812s
27 James Colborn Wayne Poole Racing +32.517s
28 Ben Miloudi +33.893s
29 Nathan Yu Team Dolan +34.572s
30 Ben Stone Simon Hadfield Motorsport +44.792s
31 Drew Cameron B-M Racing +45.746s
32 Hans-Dieter Haeckel Auto Haeckel Motorsport +46.973s
33 Peter Lucas Souley Motorsport +48.924s
34 Dominic Mooney Midland Classic Restorations +58.983s
Ret Gabe Tesch Team Dolan
Ret Ben Mitchell Wayne Poole Racing
Fastest lap: Mils 1m09.266s