Home News Felix Fisher wins Walter Hayes Trophy Last Chance Race

Felix Fisher wins Walter Hayes Trophy Last Chance Race

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

TM Racing’s Felix Fisher won the Walter Hayes Trophy Last Chance Race from 10th on the grid at Silverstone.

The reigning Castle Combe FF1600 champion passed early leader Megan Gilkes into Brooklands on lap three, the pair having pulled comfortably clear of the rest.

B-M Racing’s Gilkes bogged down from pole at the start and lost out to Rick Morris but soon regained the lead, with Ben Stone and Ian Schofield both also briefly leading on the opening lap.

Progression Race winner Mike Epps stormed up to 10th on the opening lap but then retired in a collision at Copse.

Fisher moved up to second on lap two and, after passing Gilkes, pulled away to win by 2.817 seconds.

Josh Le Roux finished third for Kevin Mills Racing ahead of Pascal Monbaron and Adrien Laissac. KMR’s Alex Vos was sixth ahead of Stone and the struggling Ollie White who had to put a new nose on his car prior to the race.

Mark Armstong spun late on at Brooklands and was collected by Morris, who retired on the spot with rear-right suspension damage.

Schofield had to take to the gravel in avoidance, but came home 10th behind Drew Cameron.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Felix Fisher TM Racing 9m36.104s
2 Megan Gilkes B-M Racing +7.817s
3 Josh Le Roux Kevin Mills Racing +8.449s
4 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +9.649s
5 Adrien Laissac Team Dolan +10.422s
6 Alex Vos Kevin Mills Racing +15.545s
7 Ben Stone Simon Hadfield Motorsport +18.448s
8 Ollie White Don Hardman Racing +18.550s
9 Drew Cameron B-M Racing +23.600s
10 Andrew Schofield Kevin Mills Racing +23.796s
11 Hans-Dieter Haeckel Auto Haeckel Motorsport +28.553s
12 Alex Ames Sema Racing +29.233s
13 Nathan Yu Team Dolan +29.424s
14 Nigel Thompson Oldfield Motorsport +31.439s
15 Dominic Mooney Midland Classic Restorations +32.070s
16 James Sweetnam Simon Hadfield Motorsport +33.319s
17 Kieran Attwood Souley Motorsport +33.416s
18 Steve Deeks SDC Builders/Engima Motorsport +33.640s
19 Adam Fathers AF Racing +33.906s
20 Benn Tilley Simon Hadfield Motorsport +33.988s
21 Neil Hunt privateer +34.490s
22 Bruce Connolly Souley Motorsport +35.223s
23 Derek Palmer Privateer +35.949s
24 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +38.956s
25 Neil McArthur B-M Racing +41.292s
26 Paul Mason Swift Cooper +41.509s
27 Sam Mitchell Wayne Poole Racing +55.627s
28 Peter Lucas Souley Motorsport +56.056s
29 Mark Armstrong Simon Hadfield Motorsport +1 lap
30 Rudolf Ernst Simon Hadfield Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Rick Morris Don Hardman Racing
Ret Mike Epps Border Reivers
Ret Gilles Cloet John’s Racing Team
Fastest lap: Le Roux 1m10.329s