Home News Foster fastest in Indy Pro 2000 qualifying at Portland

Foster fastest in Indy Pro 2000 qualifying at Portland

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Exclusive Autosport’s Louis Foster claimed pole-position for Indy Pro 2000 race one at Portland, when he is poised to secure the championship.

Reece Gold was unable to snatch pole away from points leader Foster despite topping the first run of qualifying as well as both test sessions and practice that took place on Thursday.

Juncos Hollinger Racing kicked off the session strong with both Gold and Ahmed beating each other for the top spot. Foster joined the battle five minutes into the session, setting the second fastest time two tenths off Gold’s benchmark.

Both Gold and Foster improved yet another time with the latter staying just 0.035s off the former before heading to the pit-lane for new tyres.

DEForce Racing’s Kiko Porto and Nolan Siegel also bettered their laptimes halfway through the session, upping themselves to third and fourth place respectively.

Foster went fastest by over one tenth of a second as drivers headed out again for their second run.

The session was red-flagged with just under four minutes remaining on the clock because of Jay Howard Development Driver’s Marcos Flack stopping on the pit-straight.

The session resumed shortly after, but no one was able to beat the 1m08.2477s lap that Foster had set prior to the stoppage.

Ahmed moved up to fourth ahead of Siegel, but the American soon lowered his best lap to regain the place, and would still have time to improve again and set the third fastest time, demoting his teammate Porto to fourth position.

A late lap earned Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green sixth place. Jack William Miller, Yuven Sundaramoorthy, Salvador De Alba and Bijoy Garg completed race one starting grid top 10.

Qualifying result
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 1m08.2477s 15
2 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m08.3841s +0.1364s 13
3 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 1m08.4472s +0.1995s 14
4 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 1m08.5775s +0.3298s 14
5 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m08.6333s +0.3856s 14
6 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 1m08.7413s +0.4936s 14
7 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m08.7555s +0.5078s 16
8 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 1m08.8123s +0.5646s 15
9 Salvador De Alba Jay Howard Driver Develpment 1m08.8699s +0.6222s 14
10 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 1m08.9073s +0.6596s 14
11 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport 1m09.0158s +0.7681s 14
12 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 1m09.0384s +0.7907s 15
13 Braden Eves Jay Howard Driver Development 1m09.0880s +0.8403s 12
14 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 1m09.3325s +1.0848s 14
15 Marcos Flack Jay Howard Driver Development 1m09.6071s +1.3594s 6